Home > Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video > How To: Restoring Ovi Store on Nokia N8 (lost after Hard Reset)

How To: Restoring Ovi Store on Nokia N8 (lost after Hard Reset)

Have you hard reset your Nokia N8? Did you happen to lose Ovi Store?

Here are instructions as well as a how to video on how to get it back.

Before you start, you’ll need:

1. Nokia Qt Package from wiki.forum.nokia (consist Nokia Qt 4.6 and Nokia Qt 4.7)
2. Nokia Qt SDK
3. USB Cable

“Leo The Lion” from LeoTech89 has produced the following step by step on how to get it done. I’m not sure if it works but the two comments so far in the video seem to indicate that it does.

  1. Download Nokia Qt Package from wiki.forum.nokia and extract the package. There will be Qt 4.7 for Symbian^3 and Qt 4.6 for Symbian^3
  2. Copy both of the files (Qt 4.7 for Symbian^3 and Qt 4.6 for Symbian^3)to your Mass storage Nokia N8 and paste it
  3. After that, download the Nokia Qt SDK from the link given and installed it to your PC. The installation will take time, so be patient.
  4. After installation is done, connect your Nokia N8 to your PC. (Make sure the phone is set to Nokia Ovi Suite first)
  5. Wait till your PC fully detect the phone
  6. Then go Start > Nokia Qt SDK > Symbian and choose Install QtMobility to Nokia N8 device *This is the most important part
  7. It will prompt Ovi Suite and will start installing the appropriate application to your phone. Wait till the installation is finished.
  8. Then go to Tools > Software Update and sellect all the update you think its appropriate.
  9. After done updating the phone. Unplug the cable from your phone
  10. Go to File Manager and Install qt.sis and qtwebkit.sis from Qt 4.6 for Symbian^3 folder
  11. Then install qt_4_7_0_opengl.SIS from Qt 4.7 for Symbian^3
  12. Open Ovi Sote application, wait till the download links appeared.
  13. Click download and start installing Ovi Store
  14. Finally, restart the phone then test whether the Ovi Store is restored back or no

Categories: Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video Tags: , , ,
  1. Kraistus
    December 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    WOW, that’s alot of instructions. I did a hard reset to my phone and i too lost Ovi Store in the process. And i got it to work doing the following:

    First you have to make sure that any previous OviStore apps are uninstalled. You can do this from the application manager(there’s the ovi store shortcut which you can’t unistall)

    1. Download the QT package from wiki.forum.nokia
    2. Copy this package to your phones mass memory
    3. Install “qt.sis” and “qtwebkit.sis” from “Qt 4.6 for Symbian^3” folder
    4. Install “qt_4_7_0_opengl.sis” from Qt 4.7 for Symbian^3
    5. Reboot the phone
    6. click OviStore shortcut, and download/install Ovi Store client via the link provided
    7. Voilá!

    That’s how i got the Ovi Store client to work after hard reset. Much simpler if you ask me.

    • Alex
      December 10, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Ur method doesn’t work for my n8

  2. Fail
    December 10, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Step one = fail.

    I couldn’t find anything called “Nokia Qt Package”.

  3. fat-on
    December 10, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    hey I lost my ovi store by hard reseting my N8,can somebody send me thus QT in my e-mail address please glosator@hotmail.com

  4. December 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    @all,

    1. I have experimented with Qt on my Nokia N8 (app development, hacking etc) and I found some pretty weird stuff with Qt in it’s current form on Symbian^3.

    2. Some of my experiments with Qt can be read here : http://www.i-symbian.com/funny-things-about-qt-for-symbian3/

    3. There’s also more hiccups which I documented at http://twitpic.com/3ekx4k and http://twitpic.com/3ei99c

    4. Regarding Ovi Store 2.0 reinstallation after hard reset, till now, I have NOT found ANY method that work other than reflashing the N8 using Phoenix and Navifirm on Windows box.

    5. I have no Windows PC to try the method stated in this post (using Qt SDK). I am a Mac user, so, any method that requires Windows PC is unlikely to me.

    6. I have tried the method described by Kraistus above (in the comment) and it also failed.

    7. When you do the 3 fingers hard-reset, many things will be removed from your Symbian^3 devices.

    8. I pushed the envelop further and did hard-reset together with formatting the Mass Memory and more stuff are removed i.e. :
    – Ovi Store 2.0
    – Ovi Maps 3.04
    – Qt engine
    – Social app (you know… the clunky Twitter and Facebook client).

    9. If you do this, none, I repeat NONE of the Qt apps will work even after you installed the correct Qt version (Qt 4.6.4 or Qt 4.7). The Qt apps install just fine like other apps but they wont launch even after phone restart.

    10. Thanks for reading

    Cheers!

    Asri al-Baker

  5. Jaydee
    December 10, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I restored my N8 to Factory Setting by using the *#7370# method after the Music Player were unable to even read .mp3 files..
    After a reboot Ovi Store was there but I was unable to install anything on it. (.sis files- I get Unable to Install or downloaded from Ovi Store- I get Error msg from Ovi Store download) Then I tried Re-Install SW from Nokia Ovi Suite and everything is back to normal.. And now I’m wondering, what happened..?

  6. Kraistus
    December 10, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Okay, I just remembered something regarding my instruction above. I didn’t go just like I described. This is how it went:

    Uninstall any previous Ovi Store files from application manager, except for the one that can’t be uninstalled.

    1. Download the QT package from wiki.forum.nokia
    2. Copy this package to your phones mass memory
    3. Install “qt.sis” and “qtwebkit.sis” from “Qt 4.6 for Symbian^3″ folder
    4. …
    5. Reboot the phone
    6. click OviStore shortcut, and download/install Ovi Store client via the link provided
    7. After the installation is complete, re-start your phone.
    8. Now the Ovi Store should work.

    I didn’t(!) install “qt_4_7_0_opengl.sis” from Qt 4.7 for Symbian^3 at all. And please note the additional re-start after the installation of Ovi Store.

    Please note, that if you tried my previous method described earlier, and that didn’t work for you, I suggest that you remove the Qt-files that were installed in the process. And the only way I know how is to do the one thing that caused the problem in the first place, hard reset. You can do it by dialing *#7370#. Starting from the beginning is probably you best option to overcome this obstacle.

    This method worked for me after I did the hard reset(*#7370#) to my handset, note that I didn’t do the infamous “three finger suicide”. If this still doesn’t work for someone, i advice to look for solution at: http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/t5/Nseries-and-S60-Smartphones/bd-p/smartphones
    Just type “ovi store n8” in the serch field, you’ll notice that this is a very commong issue. There are a few different methods that have worked for someone.

  7. VDVsx
    December 10, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Easy solution, just one step:
    – Go to Ovi store website using N8 browser and install the app from there 😉

    • Alex
      December 11, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      aren’t you a smart one… LOL

      • alex68
        December 11, 2010 at 10:54 pm

        How is your N8? No any hardware issues? Hope you are lucky enough…

        • Alex
          December 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

          well… now i’m at my second n8 experience. the 1st one was a big software fail. it’s a long story about me trying to get hold of an romanian language pack using phoenix and navifirm … followed by repeatedly system crashes (3 to 5 automatic reboots during the charging procedure) sometimes i couldn’t even been able to power it on so… they gave me a “new” one. but this one has no ovi store installed. and it cannot be installed using the easy way. the volume rocker feels very shitty it grips into the aluminum casing it’s not as smooth as my first n8. but maybe it’s just me being too picky… of course it’s all about the software experience. (for now i’m just bypassing ovi store by using desktop downloading and modifying .dm extension files with notepad ++ but still it’s abnormal). I hope that the software upgrade you forecasted will provide a solution for the ovi store problem.

          p.s.: what’s your n8 average battery life?

    • December 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      Yeah, if u look at my video, it didn’t show the download. after I installed the Qt tools, it worked.

  8. old nokia user
    December 10, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    i think the *#7370# is not a hard reset because it does not remove all installed files in the phone memory , it only removes some in the phone memory and all in the mass memory. i made the 3 finger hard reset and installed ovi map in the phone memory, and then i did the *#7370# reset but the ovi map is still there, then i tried the 3 finger reset again, then the ovi map is gone.

  9. old nokia user
    December 10, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    @VDVsx my friend, if you did not do the 3 finger hard reset your one step solution is applicable. If you hard reset your n8, you will lose the qt files in your phone, and ovi store i think is using those files. that is why you cannot install it.

  10. HohOXMAS
    December 11, 2010 at 1:16 am

    What is the best way to reflash using phoenix, is there a guide?

  11. elpuri
    December 11, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    I don’t think this is needed anymore. Yesterday I downloaded the ovi store client from the download link in the applications menu, downloaded the .sis file (the name had changed) and it ran fine. The device had been *#7370#ed plenty of times and failed to install the ovi store client sis afterwards until now.

  12. December 11, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Interestingly enough, after I hard-reset (foolishly, as it turned out) the Nokia C7 because Ovi Store didn’t work properly, I couldn’t even find Ovi Store shortcut(!), just white question marks where it was supposed to be in the main menu and on the homescreen… It also didn’t have Ovi Maps but I manged to get it back, the nokia social app… ahh, who frikkin’ cares about that one xD

    Now I’m thinking whether I should try these instructions as well (I tried installing the qt libraries before but it didn’t help), time is dear for me atm, but I don’t want to send a trial device back in this half broken state..
    This whole situation is embarrassing to me, and it should be embarrassing for Nokia, as well… this just isn’t how a hard-reset should work, or at least it didn’t until Symbian^3 phones came, never failing to disappoint me software wise, sadly :S

  13. December 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks mynokiablog.com, I will update the instruction by time to time. for now, the current instruction really worked on my phone

  14. December 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Asri al-Baker :
    @all,
    1. I have experimented with Qt on my Nokia N8 (app development, hacking etc) and I found some pretty weird stuff with Qt in it’s current form on Symbian^3.
    2. Some of my experiments with Qt can be read here : http://www.i-symbian.com/funny-things-about-qt-for-symbian3/
    3. There’s also more hiccups which I documented at http://twitpic.com/3ekx4k and http://twitpic.com/3ei99c
    4. Regarding Ovi Store 2.0 reinstallation after hard reset, till now, I have NOT found ANY method that work other than reflashing the N8 using Phoenix and Navifirm on Windows box.
    5. I have no Windows PC to try the method stated in this post (using Qt SDK). I am a Mac user, so, any method that requires Windows PC is unlikely to me.
    6. I have tried the method described by Kraistus above (in the comment) and it also failed.
    7. When you do the 3 fingers hard-reset, many things will be removed from your Symbian^3 devices.
    8. I pushed the envelop further and did hard-reset together with formatting the Mass Memory and more stuff are removed i.e. :
    – Ovi Store 2.0
    – Ovi Maps 3.04
    – Qt engine
    – Social app (you know… the clunky Twitter and Facebook client).
    9. If you do this, none, I repeat NONE of the Qt apps will work even after you installed the correct Qt version (Qt 4.6.4 or Qt 4.7). The Qt apps install just fine like other apps but they wont launch even after phone restart.
    10. Thanks for reading
    Cheers!
    Asri al-Baker

    I’m aware the Qt tools is a developer version, but what choice do u have if you can’t restore your Ovi Store?

    • December 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      I’m thinking only a service center will help for the most severe cases (like mine)…

  15. December 26, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I can confirm, if you have n8 and a Mac, there is obviously no known way to get ovi back to you n8 after hard reset. Been playing with possibilities over the holidays for a few days now, 0 success.

    fail.

  16. Martin
    December 28, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Hey I do not lose my N8 warranty if uses this method of QT?

  17. faysall
    December 30, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    how much time does QT installation takes, it seems like it will take agessss

  1. December 10, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

