Home > Nokia, Nseries, Video > Video: Single Finger Pinch Zooming on N8

Video: Single Finger Pinch Zooming on N8

Ever come across this bug? Is it a bug? If I knew how to activate it, I’d find it really useful if I were using the N8 one handed and needed to zoom in.

I do miss spiral zooming on N900. As odd as that looked.

As for now, it’s a random spontaneous thing.

It disappears the moment you pinch/zoom properly (thus also allowing you to pan around the page)

Random photo I took was during student protest in London yesterday about rising tuition fees in UK and Uni bugdet cuts to education. No I wasn’t a part of it as much as I’d love to be there with fellow students. I was heading for an E7 event and as soon as I got into the train station – bang I’m marching with protesters.

My favourite signs was “Tory – puts the N in cuts”.


Categories: Nokia, Nseries, Video Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. mj
    December 1, 2010 at 10:32 am

    umm. .private video?

    • December 1, 2010 at 10:48 am

      Cheers buddy.

      • mj
        December 1, 2010 at 10:53 am

        this maybe because your other fingers are at the edge of the phone, some times the screen can still pick that up.

        Thus you have two points, one on the edge (fixed) and the other one moving.

        Two fingers pinch and zoom 🙂

        ?

        • December 1, 2010 at 11:06 am

          No, in the video I’m holding the phone to keep it steady for video. (As you can see it’s all in the black bezel portion – if that or on the side)

          But I could do this with just my index finger suspended and no other fingers touching the phone.

  2. tero h
    December 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I have seen this happening with my N8 many times.. I just thought maybe there is some feature that I don’t know anything about it. Maybe it’s just bug.

    • alex68
      December 1, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      With the update, single-finger pinch-to-zoom seems to work constantly and perfectly. It might be an intended feature but failed miserably in the early software release.

      • December 1, 2010 at 12:48 pm

        Yeah I remembered you mention this. It will be a neat addition especially over the silly zoom bar that is just way to fiddly.

        • Rant
          December 1, 2010 at 12:58 pm

          Seems like a good addition, but how are you than able to pan around the image? That would become impossible?

          • December 1, 2010 at 1:23 pm

            possibly there’s an initial action to pan/zoom. After just disable and you can pan.

            e.g. like sliding finger from left of the screen to activate cursor in maemo 5. A gesture could activate it so you wouldn’t need to bring up buttons.

            I’m not sure how Nokia’s doing it though.

        • Dave
          December 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm

          The zoom bar is just a waste of time/space, same with zoom on the camera – why bother with on-screen controls when there’s hardware buttons to do the same?

  3. Rant
    December 1, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Hmm, I haven’t got any experience with Maemo (or any that matters at least) but for as far as I heard the spiral zoom works pretty good. With the patent stuff related to PtoZ that would be a great alternative.
    But I guess PtoZ has become more exceptable and thus more marketable. We will see!

  4. MSA
    December 1, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    yeah, i too faced this bug many times. its annoying

  5. lordoftheweb
    December 1, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I had this twice and I had noticed that it was due to the screen glass becoming sticky and probably causing some interference with the pinch recognition. When I wipe the screen, it didn’t happen.

  6. December 1, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I’ve never seem this on mine! strange!

  7. Paulo
    December 2, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Happens with mine, too!

    Sometimes when I double-tap a pic to fully zoom it, the screen goes black as well. I have to exit the photo gallery and then come back to it.

  1. December 6, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

