Home > Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video > Video: SPB Mobile Shell 3.7 demoed on the Nokia N8

Video: SPB Mobile Shell 3.7 demoed on the Nokia N8

SPB Mobile Shell is an application that revamps your Symbian phone’s user interface, and this year won the Nokia “Calling all innovators 2010 special prize”.

Matthew Miller from Nokia Experts gives us an overview of SPB Mobile Shell on his Nokia N8.

[YOUTUBE=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IzUeDABMmo8]

VIA palmsolo

As Matthew says, it is a bit expensive (at 29.95USD) though this may be something you’ll be using everyday so the functionality and practicality of it all balances out.

Thanks to Duncan for the heads up


Categories: Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video Tags: , , ,
  1. Stylinred
    October 13, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    What i like is that it’ll show all those complaining about the UI that with Symbian they can change that completely this is a great video to show them that (wish it was in hd)

    What i don’t like is that this app looks a bit complicated to use

    • Stylinred
      October 13, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      and it is sooo not worth $30

      • Stylinred
        October 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm

        I spoke too soon (i didnt finish the video)
        i guess that’s part of my InternetADD 😉

        The transition animations the carousel view etc is rather great; coupled with the business layout etc and customization

        It will be great to see what the community brings in terms of similar programs

  2. October 13, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    waiting for this app

    n8 equalizers not adjustable even cant see equalizer. but presets are there and sound rocks with n8 headphone tried the songs downloaded from ovi unlimited for a year.

  3. Deaconclgi
    October 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    I have version 3.5 on my Nokia Nuron and it is worth it for the Nuron since Tmobile US locked out the homescreen customization and there is only one homescreen. It is mostly a copy of Android. I wan’t Symbian^3 so I wouldn’t use this on my N8…..when I get one…lol

  4. giorgio
    October 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    I downloaded it for my N79. Works ok but I cannot use the Greek keypad (I’m Greek) and it does not support T9 which is a huge let down.. I guess if you have full qwerty keyboard it doesn’t matter that much. But it does matter when you don’t.

  5. chfyfx
    October 13, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    nice

  6. Duncan
    October 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    The mods you can do to this app is just astounding! http://forum.dailymobile.se/index.php?topic=23964.0

  7. David
    October 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    This really does look great

  8. Keith
    October 13, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I’m a little skeptical about buying this coz:
    1. Its a bit expensive (although I’m pretty sure it could be worth it)
    2. I see a little lag in some transitions.
    3. I’m not sure but this thing might take up lots of RAM
    4. It might slow down the phone when doing heavy duty tasks.

    I could be wrong but I’d like to clear all these doubts first.

    • Rant
      October 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      For what it’s worth:
      Had this on an N97 Mini. I could browse with the default browser, as soon as I used Opera Mobile it would have memory errors.
      Also, running more than 2 apps of medium proportion it would stall.

      Even though it does look great, it isn’t really worth it IMHO. On S60v5 it did make it a lot more pleasing to the eye. But with S3, it has lost some necessity.

    • Stylinred
      October 14, 2010 at 12:20 am

      I have a similar app on my N95 and the only problem I had was my battery life

  9. rudy
    October 13, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I had 3.5 for my windows mobile phone.

    A million times better than the stock winmo shell.

    Glad to see more apps coming towards the n8.

  10. Nocare
    October 14, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I have tried the pirated olderversion, but now back to original nokia ui.

    Reasons, too complicated!

    There are some stuff nokia can learn from them and apply them in symbian 4

    option and back bottom back should be made as small icons

  11. Turbo Dragon
    October 14, 2010 at 12:57 am

    It seems that version 5.0 is on the way. It’s available for OEMs and carriers: http://spb.com/press/pressreleases/2010/spb-software-launches-spb-mobile-shell-5.0-for-manufactures-and-carriers.html

  12. Ali Abdulla
    October 14, 2010 at 2:52 am

    well N8 is symbian^3 and with new hardware.. im sure it can handle SPB a bit..
    make sure ur orginal homescreen only has one page and with no widgets to make stuff easier..

    at any rate, there is a 14 days trail period i believe, more than enough time to test ram issues i guess 🙂

  13. dpr
    October 14, 2010 at 4:04 am

    looks really neat. I did not see any lag in transitions too in the video. a bit costly though. I wish some of teh features are inbuilt into s3 itself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

