Home > Nokia, Xseries > Gallery: Quick 5MP Sample images from the Nokia X3-02 – excellent in good lighting…

Gallery: Quick 5MP Sample images from the Nokia X3-02 – excellent in good lighting…

The Nokia X3-02 Touch and Type has a fixed focus 5mp camera (no flash). I haven’t had a chance to properly test out the camera – these shots were mostly taken on the move (hence I’ve added to the blurring).

  • Pictures are captured with the camera button on the touch screen.
  • The camera takes photos very quickly. It then takes 1-2 seconds to process the photo and then you press back to take the next photo
  • Camera sound can be disabled
  • Digital zoom is smooth though not recommended to use.
  • Photos are taken in portrait. There is no autorotate if photos taken in landscape.
  • No autofocus means no macro.
  • In good lighting, the photos come out very nicely
  • In poor lighting, photos will suffer in quality
  • Video is not so hot. But I haven’t used this enough in different settings. To be fair, same thing with the camera.
  • Photo viewing on the device is surprisingly good – more on this in another post but for quicky: Excellent photo organization, thumbnails/swiping/date/album, great photo editor with many features and zoom within photo is very smooth.

This is the X3 in extreme low light.


Categories: Nokia, Xseries Tags: , , , ,
  1. VV
    October 12, 2010 at 3:46 am

    I have a question about the N8:do any of you guys that have it feel like the “slide to unlock” button is a tiny bit loose? Because I think it’s a little loose and if I shake the phone i can hear it making a sound.I got my N8 today and this is most unpleasant.I appreciate any response.

    • Don
      October 12, 2010 at 9:42 am

      Yes it has a little bit of tolerance inwards and if you shake the phone hard next to your ear you can hear it (if you hold the unlock switch while you shake you hear nothing).

      But it had never crossed my mind as a bad thing (actually i never noticed until you mentioned it). I’d say the button is like this for durability, absorbing most of the motions itself instead of being rigidly connected to a microswitch on the mainboard and adding wear. (IINAE)

      • VV
        October 12, 2010 at 8:43 pm

        Thanks for the reply Don.I,ve compared N8’s button to N900’s unlock button and it’s definately wobbly.I’m pretty sure the N8 is not supposed to make any noises while shaking it which leads me to believe i got a defective one and as such I will return it.Mathew Miller from Nokia Experts said that his N8 doesn’t have this issue.The unlock button is supposed to be tight and reassuring.Not the case with mine.Hopefully my replacement will be better.

    • alex68
      October 12, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      The “slide to unlock” button it tight and it sounds a bit when I shake the phone next to my ear.

      • VV
        October 12, 2010 at 9:59 pm

        The thing is I don’t have to put it next to my ear.I can clearly hear it shaking from a distance.I guess I’m just “lucky” and got a defective one.To me at least this brings down a bit the N8’s mythical build quality.It’s not fun having to return devices one had high expectations from.

  2. Keith
    October 12, 2010 at 5:53 am

    WOW! The saturation and colors look great in these samples! I’m really impressed by the EDoF camera on this thing! I’m pretty sure this means that E7/C7/C6-01 will be even better (hopefully at low-light too)

    However, I have one concern with the camera on those devices. They have dual-LED flash but no autofocus which means that you can’t take close up pics. And the range of the LED flash isn’t that great. So basically, the flash is useless? I don’t know but all these devices should do pretty well 🙂

  3. October 13, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    yes images are good but not at the night time.

  4. steinar
    October 25, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hi
    Our daughter turns 12 early nxt month. We are to buy here a new phone. The Nokia X3-02 touch and type appears to be a very interesting and “right” telephone for her; however will not be available in Norway until mid December. I have searched for tests etc in order to consider if it may be worth the wait, but to now avail. Found your blog, where it at least show good outdoor pictures; i.e you actually have a unit…. Can you share some other considerations on the quality of the phone??

    brgds steinar

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

