Home > Linux, Maemo, Nokia, Nseries, Qt > TwimGo – a new Qt based twitter client for Nokia N900

TwimGo – a new Qt based twitter client for Nokia N900

Just a quick heads-up of an interesting new twitter client that is being developed for Nokia N900. We all know how difficult the situation is with native twitter apps for N900 at the moment, so seeing new faces like TwimGo is definitely is exciting and worth checking out. The app utilizes the landscape screen of the N900 for easier overview of twitter time line with double columns and comes with a surprisingly deep set of features.

It certainly is a work in progress, as it lacks appearance customization options or a way to upload pics as far as I can tell. But, needless to say, the app already looks simply gorgeous and is  followed by smooth animations and scrolling, so  let’s hope TwimGo doesn’t stop here and keeps on growing!

Thanks to my  friend @lifenexus for bringing this wonderful app to my attention. He also explained how to install TwimGo in a few basic steps:

1. Download & install ‘qt web runtime’  from App manager ‘Maemo Extras Devel’ repository;

Catalogue name: Maemo Extras Devel
Web address: http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/
Distribution: fremantle
Components: free non-free

2. Download & save the file to your N900 – http://bit.ly/twimgo – then open & install it using the N900 file manager;

3. Did it work?

There’re tons of little details that are easier and faster to show than explain with words, so feast your eyes on some of the TwimGo screenshots and let me know what you think:

Update: TwimGo does seem to support portrait mode as well, no virtual keyboard in this viewing mode though…


Categories: Linux, Maemo, Nokia, Nseries, Qt
  1. September 20, 2010 at 7:34 am

    HEY, nice find!

    I was just getting used to tweetgo.net. I will try this as soon as I get some WiFi connection.

    Which do you prefer for tweeting? Twimgo or tweetgo?

    • September 20, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      Thanks Jay, a friend pointed me to this app and I was immediately impressed by it… Could never expect that much polish from a small Qt app, that’s for sure! Tweetgo.net has bigger UI elements and is a bit faster, but for now I’ll be using TwimGo as my main twitter client on Nokia N900 😉

  2. Freek
    September 20, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I’m using it since today and I’m very happy with it, quite user friendly for a beta version!

  3. September 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Download & save the file to your N900 – http://bit.ly/twimgo – then open & install it using the N900 file manager;

    Can you explain how to do this exactly, I just get a twingo.wgt on the pc, even if I copy it to the SD on the N900, how do I ‘open’ it ?

    • Sergejs
      September 20, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      Hi @Minty95, it’s dead simple really, what I did is I opened the link with my N900 web browser and saved it to the root folder of mass memory (you can do it via PC as well of course). I then went over to the built-in N900 file manager and opened the file, starting the installation procedure.

  4. oZ
    September 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Isn’t this a webapp wrapped up in a Qt webview?

  1. September 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm
  2. September 22, 2010 at 11:34 am
  3. September 22, 2010 at 11:44 am
  4. December 15, 2010 at 4:19 am

Leave a Reply

