Tabula Crypticum

September 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

The following blog post was dropped into our comments section not long ago and having read it from end to end, I can sincerely empathize with the author and agree almost whole-heartedly with his views.

I think the key takeaway from this article is that Nokia has an image problem and seems not to realize the severity of said image and the possible repercussions of such a problem. Let’s hope that Nokia World 2010 is the beginning of a change in direction for Nokia.

Give it a read and leave your comments both here and @ texrat’s blog.

http://tabulacrypticum.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/an-open-letter-to-nokia-for-2010/

Thanks a lot Randall. Great post.


  1. September 14, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Thank you!

    Open letter to Stephen Elop under construction. 😉

    • Roger Johnson
      September 14, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      It’s clear that blog post is US-focussed and from a US point of view. I can’t agree with it’s applicability outside the US, where globally Nokia has been going from strength to strength, in spite of a minor temporary slip up at the high end.

      I am also sure that with the new Symbian^3 and ^4 devices, and new efforts in the US, the sentiments in that blog post will soon become a forgotten irrelevance (which I’m sure you’d welcome!).

  2. Andre
    September 14, 2010 at 6:56 am

    I’ll mirror it here if you’d like

  3. visitor
    September 14, 2010 at 7:16 am

    There are some sentimental thoughts of the past included, which I share.
    I hope that everything will turn to something good in the next 2 days.
    But I have to admit: If NW10 will not rock me, I’m not sure to spend my money in C7/E7/X7/N8/N9 or better in an Android- or a WM7-Phone. Nokia – rock me.

  4. wes
    September 14, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I would love to see all types of MeeGo devices directly from Nokia. A Media Center Connected to my HDTV that lets me receive DVB-T/C/S in HD, Record it, store my music on it, play all types of movies, browse the web, CONNECT WITH PEOPLE via ovi, facebook… and most importantly lets me EASILY sync Media/Contacts/Messages
    with my mobile. Probably looking like that: http://mynokiablog.com/2010/09/10/amino-meego-dvb-t-hybrid-on-demand-media-centre-available-q4-2010/
    Adding Gaming support would be great, maybe teaming up with Nintendo would be good. Buying is prob not a option financially…
    I think selling even the most advanced headsets in the future. People want their media connected and synced in a simple way. This would be the perfect application for MeeGo btw.
    The Mobile could directly as a remote and switch content to the TV if it is turned on, letting me get all the Content from the big screen easily.
    In addition a Netbook very much like the Booklet 3G but with a 11.6″ screen (personal preference) with MeeGo and the same sync capabilities would be perfect. I think a tablet isn’t that important (at least for me) but would be a welcome addition.

    What would help Nokia very much is if they could get their – maybe not perfect but good – services into peoples mind. Things like ComesWithMusic/OviUnlimited are not even know by most of my friends that do care about the mobile industry but not into Nokia that much.

    I think they should first release a ultimate flagship device, running lagfree MeeGo with everything the N900 could do + Ovi integration, + Maps 3.x, + a slimmer form factor and as soon as possible after that (simultaniously would be perfect) announce the “MeeGo Universe” with Media Center, Netbook and Tablet.

    Then they’d have a 100% satisfied consumer with me and I guess many others…

    • Roger Johnson
      September 14, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      You realise you pretty much described an N8 in the first half of your post, don’t you? 😉

      • wes
        September 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

        Packed into a set-top box with additional tuners and recording made for connecting it to a 1080p display – yes 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

