Home > Nokia, Rant > Mystery of the @NokiaMessaging Password Problem

Mystery of the @NokiaMessaging Password Problem

So, you’re a Nokia Messaging user. A great little service from Nokia whereby you can get your emails sent instantly to your chosen handsets (with up to 10 different email accounts). All active devices can send emails and all receive emails simultaneously. I’ve become rather attached to it, and for most of the time, it’s as reliable as receiving any email as it is with receiving SMS.

But you may be unfortunate to come across some errors too. I haven’t had any for a while, but for a couple of days now, Nokia Messaging has been experiencing a password problem on my N900.

ISSUE: N900 asks for a password. I enter password. Nothing happens.

If I try to add mailboxes, I get “incorrect password”.

Result: No more email for your phone :(.

Questions:

  • Why isn’t there a password reset option?
  • Why isn’t my Ovi Account tied up with the Nokia Messaging stuff? Instead of making me sign in to Nokia Messaging with the first email address I added, why not, use my Ovi Account and just authorise that to access any email address I add to it?
  • This got anything to do with the Yahoo take over of Nokia emails?

I thought it may have been a N900/Maemo issue (it has a hiccup problem when opening emails, just staring blankly for a few seconds too long, unlike on N97 – another issue)but a few guys on twitter are experiencing similar problems on their Symbian handsets too. There’s quite a few threads on official Nokia forums.

Solution?

Here’s where I need your help. Have you experienced similar problems? Do you know a fix for this or is this an issue server side? It’s now day 4 of no Nokia Messaging for either Nokia N97 or N900. Oddly the N82 is still able to pull my email down.

RANT

I wish N900 and Maemo 5 email would get an update. The email interface is clunky compared to Symbian. Too many clicks to get anywhere, digging down so many cumbersome trails. It’s also very difficult to switch from one mailbox to another. Not so with Symbian. (Email, Twitter and Maps, all things that Symbian whips Maemo 5 ass on)


Categories: Nokia, Rant Tags: ,
  1. Andre
    September 10, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Had a similar problem with the 10.2 update for my 5800. Had to uninstall then reinstall 10.1

    Was very very odd

  2. Duncan
    September 10, 2010 at 3:06 am

    I gave up a long time ago with Nokia Messaging with my N82. I get the password error every time after my initial log in, so I said screw it.

  3. CAMP
    September 10, 2010 at 3:13 am

    Did the same with my E63 couple weeks ago. Only way to change the password is in the account options on the site. Couldn’t even remember the pass for a while…

  4. Keith
    September 10, 2010 at 3:52 am

    I get it on my 5800 too 😦

    • Andre
      September 10, 2010 at 4:15 am

      Just roll it back to version 10.1

      • Keith
        September 10, 2010 at 6:05 am

        I would, but then 10.1 had so many other bugs.
        I’m buying the N8 when it comes out anyways, and hopefully this problem will be solved 😉

  5. Taspa
    September 10, 2010 at 6:15 am

    Had the problem yesterday. Booting my phone fixed problem for me.

  6. September 10, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Also have the same problem Jay. Asks for password, I enter it…nada. Just in case I might have put in the wrong password, I tried all of the ones it could have been, about seven.

    No joy. With it working OR myself right now with this issue. Since we unfortunately have no other E-mail client, not even a Gmail one, I have to check through browser and the only saving grace as to why I am not really upset by this is that I have the best browser on the planet with my N900 and can view gmail like I was on a real desktop.

  7. nocare
    September 10, 2010 at 6:33 am

    why not make a new post about new ovi games

    ovi maps challenges
    bounce battle

    if possible, also make a post about softwares we will miss or lack in nokia n8

  8. September 10, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Same problem on N900 starting Sat 9-4-10.
    I was at a college football game when I first noticed the password prompt. Cell phone coverage was very spotty. Thought it was a network congestion problem. Problem persisted after I got back home. Rebooting made no difference.
    Removed Nokia Messaging from email client and just connected to same gmail accounts (over IMAP) I was using in Nokia Messaging. I was surprised to find the UI more responsive then NM at its best. I’d prefer the push email, but I lowered the update interval to its smallest value (5 minutes) which works OK.
    I’m not a fan of Nokia Messaging! Not the first problem I’ve had. In addition to a painfully slow UI (even over WiFi), I’ve had times where email delivery stops for hours and then suddenly resumes.

  9. Geir
    September 10, 2010 at 6:51 am

    N97 here. I’ve had this for more than a week now.

    • Geir
      September 10, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Well, what do you know. It’s back to normal \o/

  10. Keith
    September 10, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Guys, OPK is out now, nokia changed their CEO!! Stephen Elop, a Microsoft exec is the new CEO!

    http://classic.cnbc.com/id/39091956

  11. Stive21
    September 10, 2010 at 8:18 am

    My mobile 5230 i too have problem (((((

  12. highlander
    September 10, 2010 at 9:33 am

    nokia messaging is working fine in my x6 except the setting “when to sync”. it keeps connected all the time irrespective of any setting ie 1 hour / 4 hour…..

  13. ett
    September 10, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    (re-posted after posting in wrong place on blog-sorry)

    On Nokia E63, I experienced this about a week ago.
    I have never used Nokia messaging, never properly set up Nokia messaging, having tried it when I first obtained the handset and having found that
    (1) I was not going to trust the version of it to which I had to give my passwords for other mail accounts (a horrible security model)
    (2) I had done a trial denying access to Nokia’s cloud mail handler (forgotten the exact name) but got the handset to access a POP account directly without going via Nokia.

    I had trialled in December 2009 and concluded that the mail client on the handset was rubbish (I am very unimpressed with nokia software).

    So about a week ago, I updated a number of packages on the handset, including Mail for Exchange and the Nokia mail client, and decided to try again.

    On starting the mail client, it immediately asked me for a password, but did not tell me what account’s password it wanted. As far as I now there should be no such account anywhere. Many users would probably have then tried to key in their passwords, to have their passwords sent to God-knows-where and captured by unknown systems. I did not do that and tried all sorts of tricks. The Nokia mail client just kept on demanding a password. I tried entering random strings, blanks, nothing – the client just kept asking for a password.

    Then I removed all the Nokia mail-related software from the handset, and re-installed it all and tried again and finally managed to get past this – I did not see this message again. I am now experimenting again setting up this horrible Nokia e-mail client to access an IMAP account.

    Frankly, I am just appalled by the bad quality of Nokia software applications, I am appalled by the fact that this e-mail client tries, by DEFAULT, to capture our passwords for all our other mail accounts and read our mail for us, I am appalled that Nokia tries to force us to use this useless Ovi monster, and I just cannot see how Nokia is going to survive against the competition which is clever, agile, smart and provides applications (like the Gmail client for Symbian) which just work and work nicely.

    I am glad these problems are getting attention on this blog because posting on the Nokia support forums is a total waste of time. There is no-one from Nokia patrolling those forums, no-one from Nokia seeing the pained reports of agonising problems the users are experiencing and all the setup difficulties, no-one except the occasional junior Nokia employee well-meaning but dispensing trivial advice and without the authority to get the bad bugs fixed.

    We chose Nokia smartphones for our small business and now know we have made a mistake. This is sad.

    Thank you.

  14. September 11, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Hi Jay. Had this same problem. I deleted my mailboxes and then removed Nokia Messaging from the phone. After setting it up again from scratch I haven’t experienced this issue since. Let me know if it works for you.

  15. Salim
    September 12, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I found this helped. Go to http://email.nokia.com , and signin. Once logged in the URL will change to something like https://em1x-188.lhr.messaging.nokia.com/account/manageAccount.action…. Take the server name (em1x-188.lhr.messaging.nokia.com) and update it in you account settings in the nokia messaging application.

    The location of this setting differs from device to device, and some devices don’t allows you to edit the server field. In that case, deleting and setting up from scratch is your best bet.
    Nokia Messaging team admitted that this was due to server migration they did, I guess they didn’t set up redirections correctly.

  16. Chris
    September 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    I got this bug too and just ended up adding my accounts seperately to my phone. It wasn’t really handy having my two accounts under one tab. When mail came in it was always a drag trying to figure out which account received it.

    Also, tapping the notification didn’t take me to the message, but only halfway there.

    I really don@t get the Nokia Messages “integration” into Maemo in the first place… Another reason to by default stay away from all the services Nokia seems to keep most important. They just don’t work!

  1. September 10, 2010 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

