Home > MeeGo, News, Nokia, OVI, Press Release, Qt, Symbian > Nokia acquires Motally

Nokia acquires Motally

Nokia today announced that they acquired Motally a San Francisco based analytics company. Motally offers in app application tracking and reporting to be able for developers to understand their customers better in a better way. Interestingly Nokia has said it plans to incorporate Motally into Qt, Meego, Symbian and Java and also kepp its exsisting customers base which includes the iPhone and Blackberry platforms.

It has been reported that Nokia plans to use it to beef up its Ovi store, which to be honest doesn’t make sense at all and won’t add any new information that Nokia doesn’t have right now. But then again Motally has patented technology which sounds nice and makes the deal slightly more interesting.

I still find it interesting that Nokia will keep letting Motally do business with rivals, to be honest that sounds too nice and other companies that I can think off from the top of my head would not do that……

press release here

thanks to Jim for the heads up


Categories: MeeGo, News, Nokia, OVI, Press Release, Qt, Symbian
  1. Jim
    August 20, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    yea. I just read about motally. it seems that they have some mechanism for getting in-app analytics. This way a developer can understand much better what the user likes and don’t likes on an app. however they need to be very careful about this and make some “do you agree form” before gather data from an user or else a lot of media will say bad things about them

    • John Wiegand-forson
      August 20, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      Yeah thats a good point although I don’t think that Nokia is anything like Facebook so stuff like that I except to be opt in rather than the other way round Nokia are much more friendlier for stuff like that if you know what I mean.

  2. NeNoRmAl
    August 20, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    New video sample from N8!

    Nokia N8 Sample [Video] Lantzach for “American Idol” Israel

    Very good! Post it! =]]

  3. August 20, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    It will most likely be Opt-In…as in, Agree to use the Ovi Store and you agree to have some information tracked concerning application usage. 😉

    Wouldn’t bother me at all if it helped either Nokia or an application developer improve!

    • Jim
      August 20, 2010 at 11:41 pm

      yes. it will be a nice idea if it will happen like this. I’m also a developer and I’m curious how this tool will be implemented.

      • August 20, 2010 at 11:48 pm

        You understand what I said, right? 😀

        I’m saying it could be Opt-In at the store level, meaning you agree once and never again. 😉

        Most people would NOT like that option, I don’t think.

        • Jim
          August 20, 2010 at 11:57 pm

          yes I understand you. well I’m not sure about people liking or not because they usually agree to anything without reading 😀

          I like the idea from my developer point of view 🙂 I know I’m evil

          • August 21, 2010 at 12:06 am

            Ok, just making sure!! 🙂

            And yes, I’m one of them but only because I never put anything on here that could be used to really harm me in a manner that matters, so I don’t care what they do!

        • Jim
          August 20, 2010 at 11:59 pm

          btw I’m reading some posts from your blog and I like they way you think 😀

          • August 21, 2010 at 12:07 am

            Thank you! 🙂 Feel free to comment, I love discussing things at length, any topic. Which reminds me, I have to get back to someone on something else, ahaha.

            I have more posts too, but I’m still undecided if I’m moving to wordpress or just going to upgrade my old blog to WP standards.

  4. N#O#R#U#L#E#S
    August 21, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    JUST WAST OF MONEY
    MONEY MUST SPEND IN RESEARCH…

  1. August 21, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

