Home > Nokia > Ovi store 2.0 demo

Ovi store 2.0 demo

The guys  over at symbianfrance.com managed to  get their hands on a video of a demo of the updated application store that’ll be coming with the N8. Looks pretty decent I suppose. The common complaints about it taking a long time to load content blah blah blah are definitely still there. Personally I think it’s a marked improvement over the current store.

In addition to the revamped interface, things like downloading application updates are supposed to be coming to either this or near-future updates to this application.

Give it a watch!


Categories: Nokia
  1. Jim
    August 6, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    is nice but is a little buggy and unresponsive. I hope they improve it until the final release is out. I also think it’s a web 2.0 app packed with qt an webkit. at least this is how it looked. Hope they come with ovi 3.0 faster like the one we saw these days on meego presentation.

  2. Jim
    August 6, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    oh. and I forgot. ovi.com is loading very slow, at least to me. the should improve the speed of their servers.

    • Andre
      August 6, 2010 at 7:48 pm

      It loaded pretty quickly or me, maybe it was a temporary problem?
      It was a little unresponsive. I think it might have to do with installing and downloading two apps at the same time and still rendering other stuff though I could be wrong.
      I look forward to what they’re planning to offer with MeeGo.
      And I think I remember someone on AAS saying the same thing about the Qt webkit.
      I don’t think that’s quite finished yet though which may explain the responsiveness issues.

      • Average Joe
        August 7, 2010 at 7:27 am

        I don’t think it’s a problem of being finished: even a PC gets unresponsive while installing an application. My Android phone almost freezes when doing the same thing with the Android market application.

        • Andre
          August 7, 2010 at 7:32 am

          So in essence these people are whining for no reason?

          • Average Joe
            August 7, 2010 at 1:29 pm

            I don’t think this at all. I just think that (imho) the finished product will probably have the same problem, because I don’t think there’s much that an application can do about a process copying files to the filesystem in the background.

  3. John Wiegand-forson
    August 6, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Visually its a HUGE improvement definitely up their with competition, of course not in app volume but it will come (hopefully) but visually its up their .It is laggy and slow though then again Rafe from Allaboutsymbian did say its only a preview so I am guessing they are still tweaking the software like the rest of the N8

    • Andre
      August 6, 2010 at 8:18 pm

      Possibly.

  4. September 26, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Is it comming to the n97 i think this matches the iphone version!

  1. August 9, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

