Home > Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video > Video: Nokia N8 hands-on

Video: Nokia N8 hands-on

Here’s a short video showing how fast the Nokia N8 scrolls and go through menus.

It looks pretty smooth to me, but it’s still a prototype so maybe the retail version will be faster.

via: 3BEPbEnokia‘s youtube channel


Categories: Nokia, Nseries, Symbian, Video Tags: , , ,
  1. mja
    July 31, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I got my hands on one a few weeks back and I quite liked the N8 – leaps and bounds better than the C6, which sat next to the n8! I liked the general smoothness, build quality and looks.

    I disliked the old symbian menus. I.e. transitions were on by default but animations were off. To change them one has to go Menu – Settings – Themes – General, and even then it’s not visibly anywhere but one has to choose the soft button Options and then from a pop up menu Theme effects! Why Nokia, why! No-one is ever going to find these settings!

    • Cocco Bill
      July 31, 2010 at 10:49 pm

      I’m gonna take all the animations and other effects off when I get my N8. (I always do the same thing to my Windows.) I just can’t stand them. To me they are annoying and totally useless. They slow things down and eat battery life. I’m happier without them. So I guess not all of us are going to mind where the settings are.

  2. mja
    July 31, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Oh, and multi touch was not available in the soft keyboard. Pinch to zoom oddly doesn’t work in the photo preview after taking a pic but one has to go to gallery for pinch to zoom. The web browser is also choppy and laggy on any page with pictures. Will still buy the n8 but hope these issues will at some point fixed (hopefully for the final firmware).

    • Roger Johnson
      July 31, 2010 at 12:48 pm

      Well, it’s obvious that you were using a much earlier firmware. I expect obvious things will be fixed for the release version.

      I would not be surprised if Nokia had a few nice surprises in store for the release N8!

      • mja
        July 31, 2010 at 1:20 pm

        The firmware was from mid June, so fingers crossed! I highly doubt though that they are going to do anything about the hierarchic menus and their layout.

        • A-S-D
          July 31, 2010 at 2:35 pm

          Thats really early firmware. You probably should have mentioned that first. The browser probably wasn’t the final one as I remember someone saying in June that the browser was still only 40% complete. The thing is though that that is how the device would have been released had the guy in charge of smartphones at Nokia not refused to release in July as intended.

          • mja
            July 31, 2010 at 3:01 pm

            Don’t get me wrong, I liked the n8. I just hope to see these small things fixed for the final firmware. Time will tell.

            About the browser, are you sure you are not talking about the Qt-based browser that is rumoured to be released late this year or early next year?

  3. Cocco Bill
    July 31, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    mja :
    The web browser is also choppy and laggy on any page with pictures.

    That’s gotta be an early firmware, because I have seen a video where there wasn’t choppiness. The web page had a lot of pictures and even Flash in it and the scrolling looked fine to me. About the same as I’ve seen on Samsung Galaxy S.

  4. Stylinred
    August 3, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Looking much better

    But after seeing the Meego demos Im wondering if i should wait for that instead! :/
    It would be awesome if Nokia allowed us to download Meego and install it in the N8 as an option 😉

    Since the rumored N9 specs don’t seem as well as the N8

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

