Home > 3rd edition, 5th Edition, Cseries, Forum, Games, Nseries, OVI, Qt, Video > Qt Animation Framework – Creating animations and transitions

Qt Animation Framework – Creating animations and transitions

If you are sick and tired of the state of the Ovi store and want to do something about it then start programming. I downloaded the Nokia Qt SDK today onto my MAC today for the intention of learning to code for Nokia phones and with such great tools like the Qt SDK it’s easer than ever.

BTW with “analysts” and tech sites being obsessed with the iCandy form Apple it is important for Developers to add animations for Apps for Nokia devices

Also notice he is in a train 🙂 sort of


  1. Andre
    July 21, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I’m actually thinking about coding in my spare time as well 🙂

  2. Duncan
    July 21, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    When I tried to install QT a couple of days ago, it would not install. There were missing libraries from the server. Maybe it will work this weekend.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 21, 2010 at 9:48 pm

      Try again my download was flawless

  3. mja
    July 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Qt is kind of C Light and I find it quite easy to learn although I haven’t touched C after uni. forum.meego.com is a good place to ask about Qt stuff!

    • Andre
      July 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

      I’m registered there as well as developer.symbian.org LOL

      • mja
        July 21, 2010 at 9:53 pm

        Hm weird I don’t know where the plusses disappeared but I meant of course CeePlusPlus. Now Nokia please announce your first MeeGo/Maemo6 handset 🙂

  4. Jim
    July 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    yes. qt is very nice. but I don’t like at all nokia presentations: to long, to boring, very advanced for beginers, very stupid for advanced developers.
    Also if you’re interested you should wait for qt 4.7 and qt quick : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5gMAMSz77Q

    you can download the beta from http://qt.nokia.com/developer/qt-qtcreator-prerelease

    currently I’m on holiday, but from monday I want to start a tutorial site for beginers, with a few step by step tutorials. let me know if anyone is interested, so I don’t work for nothing

    • Andre
      July 21, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      If you want we can link to your tutorials when you put them up.
      Just contact us via tipsmynokiablogcom

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 21, 2010 at 9:51 pm

      Definitely interested like Andre has suggested we will put any links or videos up here. I am very interested myself and to be honest we need the next generation like me to start development as the current generation are blinded iOS and Android

  5. Jakob
    July 21, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Excellent idea! I’m beginning to think that we the users have to take it upon ourselves to make this platform succeed. We should really aim to emulate what peeps with Symbian on the Omnia HD/i8910 HD…

    • Andre
      July 21, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      🙂
      The community really made the omnia HD a great phone, especially after Samsung all but abandoned it.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 21, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      That was my point we need us as the next generation or nokia enthusiasts to show that good applications like Gravity can be developed for Nokia devices as the current generation are blinded by iOS and Android

  6. Jakob
    July 22, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Absolutely guys. The latest HX firmware for the Omnia HD is totally revamped the phone, yet again…I know that guy is getting an N8 too. But I want to make something of my own and I really I agree that its gonna fall on us to try to make this phone as phenomenal as it can be. Nokia’s earnings for the quarter come out tomorrow. More bad news. We need to help this rightful giant wake up and reclaim its thrown…

  7. Jakob
    July 22, 2010 at 3:39 am

    throne, I meant…

  8. Ali Abdulla
    July 22, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    that would be nice :), will u start from scratch, or expect some C++ knowledge?

    for me, i know very very basic stuff when it comes to programing, like loops and some random functions\procedures, thats about it 😦

    • Jim
      July 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      in case you were asking me, I want to start with some tutorials for non-developers and light developers, and if I see interest I might come with some more advanced tutorials. This is the reason that I delayed the project because the new qt 4.7 will add some new features which are more familiar to javascript than C++.

      • Ali Abdulla
        July 22, 2010 at 3:54 pm

        yea i meant u, but i was too lazy to scroll up back then :D:D..

        cool, looking forward for that, so im ur direct target 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

