Home > Nokia, Nseries, Symbian > Results: 95% of MNB voters would like S^4 in N8, for 66% S^4 upgrade is a deal breaker (Though 98% want the Nokia N8)

Results: 95% of MNB voters would like S^4 in N8, for 66% S^4 upgrade is a deal breaker (Though 98% want the Nokia N8)

Yesterday, we asked a question: How important is the possibility of upgrading the Nokia N8 to Symbian^4. The situation of whether the upgrade was possible wasn’t clear and was hotly discussed in the comments (I’m still not sure of the situation myself). What was clear was that of the whopping 632 votes (over half of which was in the first 5 hours alone! Thanks for voting everyone!) 95% wanted S^4 in the N8, of which for 66% of the voters was a deal breaker in deciding whether or not to get the N8.

2% were after a different handset to the N8 (much lower than I had anticipated – perhaps we have very strong Nokia fans?), with 3% hardcore N8 fans wanting the N8 regardless of the possibility of S^4 and 29% wanting the option of S^4 but did not mind were that not to happen.

We do need to consider that our (mynokiablog) audience is quite discerning, well informed of Nokia and technology. I’d want the latest and greatest upgrade if I knew it was around the corner too. If I weren’t allowed to get the soon to be released S^4, I’d feel a little burned too (though, apps made for later devices on Qt will still be compatible).

Will this dampen the N8’s possible success?

Maybe. But to what degree is uncertain. Most of the N8 target audience will not even be aware or care of a firmware update let alone the existence of Symbian^4 (or even Symbian^3).  If it will work well, with a good user experience, will that be enough? As aforementioned, the Nokia N8 is a fantastic multimedia device which really just needs a “just good enough” user experience to get its users to access the bountiful features easily. Symbian^3’s reworked UI combined with the fantastic multimedia features does look like it will deliver on great user experience.

On the upside, viewing the stats another way, 98% of voters want the N8, only 2% wanting another handset. Should S^4 be an option, that’s 98% of reader votes so far wanting the Nokia N8 but only 32% were that not possible. Would that mean you’d want MeeGo phone/different Nokia or a phone on a different OS altogether?


  1. Keith
    July 13, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    I think Nokia MIGHT have the S^4 upgrade coz

    1. N8 has proper hardware to run it. Symbian isnt an OS that requires tons of power. The GPU on N8 is excellent and I think it can handle Symbian^4 with some ease.

    2. The N900, though with only a 600 MHz processor and 256 MB RAM was able to run MeeGo better than the AAVA mobile in the demos. So its possible that Nokia would allow N8 to upgrade to S^4.

    ON THE OTHER HAND, they might NOT allow that coz they said that N8 will be the ONLY N-Series phone running Symbian^3. This might mean that it will stay like that and the users might not be able to upgrade to S^4.

    IMO though, Nokia should have the option of upgrading to S^4. NOT a deal breaker for me as I dont know what S^4 has to offer. If there’s more functionality in S^4 than S^3, then I might be quite disappointed but still, N8 has SO much to offer, I cant resist buying it. So im one of the 29% of people that would think that its not a deal-breaker if Nokia doesnt allow the upgrade, I wouldnt be surprised if they dont allow that though, as I mentioned b4, I will be quite disappointed.

  2. Andre
    July 13, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Not surprised by the stats at all.

    • Sami
      July 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

      I agree with you because Google and Apple have set the new standard of the mobile OS upgrades, all users hope to see their 500$ phone evolve with a major OS upgrade (like iOS and Android) and not to be outdate after 6 month or one year.
      I can buy only one phone every 2 years, and I don’t like to see my N8 (if I will buy it) to be outdated the next summer while the users of iPhone and Android phone see theirs phones evoluate to iOS 5 and Android 3.
      If Nokia will announce the possible upgrade of N8 to Symbian^4 I will buy it, otherwise I will buy an iPhone or Android phone at least they upgrate their 500$ phones to the new OS versions and I will not see it outdated after only one year

  3. Al Pavangkanan
    July 14, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Outside of Maemo, when is the last time Nokia offered an OS upgrade?
    I don’t think it has happened and I don’t think it will happen.

    • Aymen
      July 14, 2010 at 8:55 am

      if Nokia will not offer an OS upgrades, more users will go to Android and iPhone.
      Nokia must wake up

  4. Ali Abdulla
    July 14, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    no upgrade no N8 for me.. :(… Nokia SHOULD give you the choice to upgrade your OS if you feel like it, other than forcing you to choose yet again between them and another brand just few months laters…

  5. michael
    July 14, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    i still looking forward for an answer to the question, if it would be possible to run maemo or meego on the N8 or not. that would open a nice wide range of possibilities 🙂

  6. John
    July 19, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    n8 will be so nice and gay.. i want it in pink or else i’m not buying!!!!!!!

  7. John
    July 19, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    maemo ist sucki sucki

  8. Jer
    July 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Even if the N8 look good, I would not consider buying it before a confirmation of an S^4 upgrade by Nokia.

  9. Saharabased
    October 20, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    If Sony Ericsson had added a xenon flash to the Xperia X10, multi-touch and Android 2.0 or higher, I would have bought it already. I am into photography and have made much use of the SE Cybershot phones, and the N8 has just what I would go for ! However, I also would hope for an S4 update as this would for sure confirm my decision to buy an N8. I am so used to the ease of use and beauty of iOS from my iPod Touch, as well as being a Mac user, so though an iPhone 4 makes good sense, it does not offer the photo ability I want, and Nokia does excel at the basic important thing.. making calls ! However, OS functionality AND ease of use is what is drawing crowds today and Nokia has to realize this. I guess if all else fails (update wise) I could always sell my N8 and see what SE offers down the road 🙂

  1. July 14, 2010 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

