Home > Nokia, Nseries, Symbian > Gallery: Stunning 9MP 16:9 Shots by the Nokia N8 (FULL 4000X2248) Goodbye point and shoot cam.

Gallery: Stunning 9MP 16:9 Shots by the Nokia N8 (FULL 4000X2248) Goodbye point and shoot cam.

In response to the Nokia N8 sample gallery where the photos were severely converted destroying the quality of the photos (I was just interested in the pretty pictures ^_^) here are some full 9MP images at 4000×2248 (16:9 widescreen), and stunning too, taken and uploaded to flickr by cliboub from SymbianFrance. Please note, this is still on Proto/Pre-Production firmware.

For some 12mp (4:3)  samples click here. Note, 16:9 photos are partially reduced to 9MP. (I prefer this ratio; looks better when viewing on the phone and on PC/TV. I set N900 to 3.5mp for this same reason).

Now imagine what photos would look like with final firmware in the sunniest of days 😮

Cropped

Delicious? Seriously golden chips aka fries outside UK 😛

Cropped!

cliboub VIA SymbianFrance


Categories: Nokia, Nseries, Symbian Tags: , , , , ,
  1. N#O#R#U#L#E#S
    July 7, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    jay i would report you one of the most famous site/news journal here in italy confirm in a hands-on preview that nokia N8 plays divx and MKV!! give a look 🙂

    http://malditech.corriere.it/2010/07/anteprima_nokia_n8.html

  2. July 7, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Whoa! Amazing stuff indeed!

    • July 7, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      The James Burland Approval! Warranted only for Great Quality – I like 😀

  3. e
    July 7, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    why i do not see any reflection of n8 for the picture of glass?
    dont tell me its taken far behind or zoomed.

    of coz i like n8.

  4. July 7, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Hello,

    Thanks for using my N8 sample pictures.
    Happy to see you like them.
    I took them a few weeks ago on a 22nd week firmware prototype so quality may have been improved since then.
    I also prefer the 9 mpx size for the ratio.
    Regarding the compatibility: N8 can natively play mkv file but not divx/avi ones.
    However when plugin the device to my Windows 7 computer, in case I try to transfer a divx a file to the device, I have a message asking me if I want windows to convert it and then it works fine.

    Happy to see sir burland likes my pics !
    If you have any question regarding the device, don’t hesitate to ask.

    @ e: trust me all these pictures are coming from a Nokia N8.

    • July 7, 2010 at 3:22 pm

      Great skills dude!

      We aren’t just interested in samples, but photos that show off the cam and you did just that! Awesome job! I’ve made the table matt one my wallpaper ^_^ (would make the chips one but that would make me hungry all the time)

    • N#O#R#U#L#E#S
      July 7, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      yeah so MKV almost confirmed works! 😀

  5. Roger Johnson
    July 7, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Man, these blow away everything else on the market, many digicams included. I can’t see ANY noise on the close up shots. Note to see the original full shot you have to click through to cliboub’s flickr page, then the photo, then all sizes, then original, and finally you see what the N8 actually took (rather than something cropped or shrunk).

    Very nice indeed, and I suspect it will improve.

    Interesting with the N8, you really DON’T get what you pay for, you get much more – everything else at that price and all the way above it (thinking the best iPhone and Android phones) can’t compete!

    • July 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

      Hi Roger,

      I don’t know what WP is doing – there should be direct links to the full sized images. We’ll try to sort this out now.

  6. mja
    July 7, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Is that Coke in a wine glass??! You French!
    The Freedom/French-fries / chips look pretty delicious!

    • July 8, 2010 at 8:50 am

      This is coke. Indeed Shame on me it should be wine… but with french fries I prefered coke.

  7. July 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Man I want this device so bad!! Wish there was an N8+QWERTY right behind it!

    The virtual keyboard is going to need a full review of its own, maybe….just maybe if it works exceptionally well I can let go of the QWERTY as a needed feature, cause this device looks great!

    • Roger Johnson
      July 7, 2010 at 4:48 pm

      > Wish there was an N8+QWERTY right behind it!

      Good chance of that I’d say. For starters there’s the E-Series preview device (the one people keep falsely calling N9) but that’s only LED flash and 8MP cam. Still, there may well be a qwerty N8 at some point soon!

      • N#O#R#U#L#E#S
        July 7, 2010 at 5:51 pm

        n8 with keyboard isn’t N9 just E7..N9 only runs meego not symbian!!!!!

    • July 7, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      I have the n97 and really do like the keyboard,
      But if all the other phones such as the iPhone can do with out a hands on qwerty… Ill take the N8 without a keyboard and stick with a virtual one!

  8. andre
    July 7, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    wow! Detail! Definitely a replacement for a point and shoot… So much detail in the crops too!
    Wow.. just wow
    A camera remotely close to this running meego would be my dream device’

  9. N#O#R#U#L#E#S
    July 7, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    perfect photos N8 is the great successor of the last nokia cameraphone N82,N85,N86…

  10. Niraj
    July 7, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Here Mr. Damian Dinning has tweeted that N8 can play most of divx videos out of box http://twitter.com/phonedaz

    • N#O#R#U#L#E#S
      July 7, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      perfect so divx and mkv full support!
      infact if you give look to the spec revealed in the official nokia forum for devs you can see that n8 support MPEG4-ASP so equal to DIVX!

  11. Andre
    July 7, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    And this is what multimedia perfection looks like.

  12. John Wiegand-forson
    July 7, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Man some truly amazing shots there beats a healthy number of point and shoots and definitely every phone out there. The N8 better come quick I am frankly disgusted that respected journalists can call the camera on the iPhone 4 the best on any phone out there thats just plain stupidity

    • Andre
      July 7, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      Ignorance breeds idiocy :-P.
      They iPhone camera is better than the crap cameras out there but I doubt it’s better than the N86, period.

      • Andre
        July 7, 2010 at 10:22 pm

        the* and better than the crap cameras on other phones*

  13. Keith
    July 7, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    No Kidding. This definitely is THE BEST camera phone on the market. I know its not released yet but I hardly think anyone else would come up with a camera better than this until one more year unless Nokia itself does that 😛
    But yeah, Im SO buying this phone coz I dont like carrying my point and shoot camera with me everywhere I go. Its gonna be a good replacement. However, I think I’m gonna use my point and shoot for night shots as it has an ISO of 3200 compared to N8. Its a Sony Cybershot W350 and its really cool.

    Oh and do u know if the N8 has Panorama mode like the N86? I hope it does coz Panorama mode in such a camera-optimized phone is a must.

    • Keith
      July 7, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      compared to N8’s 1000*

  14. mrbean
    July 8, 2010 at 12:07 am

    le petit prince,i remember i had to read that in elementary ,good story.anyway pics looks great so can’t wait til final fw

  1. July 8, 2010 at 1:12 pm
  2. July 8, 2010 at 1:18 pm
  3. July 9, 2010 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

