Home > 3rd edition, Eseries, Maemo, MeeGo, News, Nokia, Nokian, OVI, Photos, S60, Symbian > Why do you use a Nokia ?

Why do you use a Nokia ?

A lot of negative comments have been written about Nokia in last few well lets *scratches his head*…… the iPhone arrived. It seems like every person who as a computer and an Internet connection has a negative opinion on Nokia phones, especially those who have never touched one. If you read “certain” blogs exclusively you would think that owning a Nokia is like owning a Sinclair C5 !!!

I mean there is a reason that 1.3 billion people use Nokia phones right or have they all been hypnotised well I haven’t so that means there are some good reasons on why those 1.3 billion people and I use Nokia phones.

Which Nokia do I use?

I currently use a Nokia E72 which was kinda a weird choice because when it came to buying a new phone earlier this year after my trusty N73 was starting to pack up I told myself I would only buy a full touch screen phone but ended up with the E72 anyway.

Here are some of my reasons for the Nokia E72:

  • Great design
  • Ovi maps simply amazing, I just want to get lost more just to use it, all though without A-GPS it takes a while for the phone to lock to the satellite
  • Good call reception and never get any dropped calls ask iPhone 4 users if you don’t know what I am talking about 🙂
  • Apps, now hear me out your probably falling off your chair right now laughing your head off as I mentioned the word Apps. One thing I noticed the number of apps on the Ovi store is definitely increasing and the quality is getting better to prime examples are Gravity and Wikitude World Browser now the latter is a reality browser which is AMAZING !!! I think its one of the new QT apps as while installing on my phone it was installing some QT stuff
  • I have only recently started writing about MyNokiaBlog but what I have noticed in a very short time is that there is great Nokia community and I am glad to be part of it
  • Themes, I have kinda got hooked on them there’s always a better theme after you have found a good one already which makes you want to hunt for more
  • Camera, the cameras on Nokia phones across the whole range is just stunning even on business phone like the e72 which is brilliant for a budding designer like me

My favorite Nokia

Its gotta be the Nokia N97, only joking its gotta be the N95 even though I never owned I have used it plenty of times but when I first saw the advert of the N95 my jaw dropped to the floor and I was truly amazed

There proof Nokia can innovate

BTW there is something about the song which makes the whole advert even better it definitely creates a sort of emotional connection I hope Nokia will use the song in future adverts. And you can listen to this song in its entirety here

Nokia’s I am looking forward to

Its gotta be the first Meego device that Nokia will release later this year, its the 5th stage of the their original Maemo strategy so in theory it will be the first consumer device, QT will hopefully bring more applications, it will hopefully feel finished compared to the n900

I was sorta looking forward to the N8 especially due to the 12 megapixel camera even though I don’t know too much about cameras but it would definitely get me into photography, but you know even the most optimistic Nokia fan has gotta admit what will happen with Symbian 3 ? and going forward will it be upgradable ? only time will tell.

The leaked leaked Nokia N9/N8-01/E7 looks really interesting especially with the supposed 4 inch screen I mean you cant go wrong with a big screen can you

Anyway let me know what you think in the comments why do you still use a Nokia and and which devices are you looking forward to


  1. Keith
    July 6, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    1. Because the have EXCELLENT quality of devices which have a low price tag but provide MUCH more than its price.

    2. I LOVE the camera on Nokia devices. Mainly because of the Carl Zeiss optics. Eg. N95, N82, N86, etc.

    3. The Symbian OS, although not very polished, is very open and provides great possibilities. However, with Symbian^3, Symbian^4, and MeeGo, I think the OS will be quite polished which is why I’m looking forward to buying the N8.

    4. Provides phones for every use. Eg. Music, Camera, Business, Casual, Teenage, etc. It has a wide variety of devices to choose from based on what you need and provides just what you need.

    I’m currently using a Nokia 5800 which is one of THE BEST music phone I’ve ever seen and is REALLY good for its price. OS is improving with every update it gets. So I have high expectations from Nokia in near future.

    -From a loyal Nokia Fan 🙂

  2. chfyfx
    July 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    1. freedom over service provider and openness of the software platform
    2. They are reliable
    3. More practical less show off
    4. Free navigation
    5. Company that cares about all people on earth

    I am looking forward to N9. Go Nokia!

  3. mja
    July 6, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Blue N8 spotted in the 1st video! Would consider no other manufacturer tbh.
    Looking forward to getting the N8 and the first MeeGo device.

  4. Jim
    July 6, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    well I have high hopes from nokia. why? because I don’t like other phones. I want the meego device to be good, so I can buy one. I always liked the quality of nokia phones. actually the price was a little higher than others( probably sony ericson was a little higher).
    Another thing I liked about nokia is the design they make on their phones, also the material quality. today I heard that nokia sold his wireless division, which is a bad move I think, because they bring so much innovation over the years.

    so from now on I think it will be an OS battle and we will not see any big improvements in the hardware, which is sad.

    let’s hope I’m wrong.

    I think I will buy a meego device if it’s come with all in one like n95

  5. Awss
    July 6, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    I’m from Finland and I’m very patriotic when it comes to mobile phones 🙂 haha

    Anyhoo, I always had a Nokia, it was my first phone and I’m used to the system, but I do welcome MeeGo and all those new stuff 🙂 I have Nokia E71 now, the best phone I have had for a long time, Ovi Maps is great, the built quality of almost every Nokia is good, have dropped my E71 many times, still working, thinking of upgrading to MeeGo next year.

    Btw, I just yesterday noticed that the Nokia N8 form factor has been on another mobile before, the E71 actually. I looked at the bottom of the E71, it has the same shape as the N8, in a way, quite funny, in my opinion 🙂

    Cheers!, Greetings from Finland, love the Nokia blog btw! Kiitos hej hej!

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 8:20 pm

      Thanks for the feedback and we love reporting the news and our opinions to you guys

  6. daniel
    July 6, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    i currently use the nokia n900. i chose this nokia because of its inner power. i think that nokia products are made to satisfy its customers, but we live in a place where monkey see monkey do. that is why other companies are more popular, like apple. people just buy the iphones because their friends have them, so they get cooler. bunch of zombies that dont really know the power of every nokia phone

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      completely agree there daniel, tons of people buy the iPhone’s because their friends have them even thought they don’t use most of the features

  7. metRo_
    July 6, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Nokia always have been and always will be the first to give us the new things and just because it fail once with full touchscreen that doesn’t mean that i have to jump out! At least all the other fail a lot of more times! In a Nokia phone i know that i have all the things that i need. Nokia E51

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 8:25 pm

      Exactly Apple has had a huge amount of flops in their history as well as the other phone manufacturer’s. Remember the KIN microsoft killed the KIN within 6 weeks of release !!!! has Nokia ever done that no

  8. albertocb5
    July 7, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Im from Mexico, my company that i work is for IT infrestructur, specific Cisco’s partner, we have a little fight between Nokia and Iphone because Nokia have convenion with Cisco but recently it that not happen, because iphone have more develops to the integration with his equipments, and for example, my nokia 5800 haven’t, i can’t find the sip native client and iphone have one specific.

    The quality of the nokia phones it’s amazing, almost all my family have one, but the symbian s60v5 need to be more impact or smooth like iphone OS.

    I hope nokia developers make a good meegos or interaction with android, but nokia hardware never dies.

  9. July 7, 2010 at 12:24 am

    1. Always been a fan of Nokia. When I started my interest in phones, Nokia’s were always the top dog.
    2. At the time, I also got Nokias for the apps! haha. No one else had the library that S60 had.
    3. Nokia was cutting edge, and familiar interface could be appreciated by other friends and family.

    Now however,

    4. Nokia satisfies my needs, and are still better bang for the buck for me.
    5. Support – it’s really easy to get in touch if there’s a problem, either repairs with Nokia care or within the community.
    6. Nokia gives me the freedom to do pretty much what I want to do with my handset. They’re extremely versatile and actually USEFUL. No glitzy smoke and mirrors behind something quite limited.

    7. I blog about Nokia, it’s worth having a handset or two to talk about, to demo up and coming apps and to represent 🙂
    8. I really want Nokia to improve and regain the number one spot (in mindshare). I want to analyse these handsets to critique them and provide possible solutions/suggestions along with the community. Nokia has such huge, huge potential. They’re in a difficult spot right now but their strategy will soon bloom, and I’ll have point 2 and 3 to be happy about again.

    Fav Nokias are 3310, 7610, N82 and N900.

    3310 INDESTRUCTABLE and versatile, so many possibilities in hardware tweaks/cases
    7610 Headturner, first MP cam and wonderful smartphone (so many apps)
    N82, killed my fuji cam, killer compact camera hidden in a mobile phone
    N900, beast of a smartphone, netbook in a slider.

  10. July 7, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Use the N900. Positives: great phone,great camera,reliable,improving software.
    Negatives:Way too long between announcement and release,iffy customer service,software that isn’t supported(ask any N900 owner),changing software platforms(symbian,maemo,meego?). Looking forward to the 4″,full qwerty phone(is it N8-01,C7,E7?).Hope we see it before the Iphone5 is released.

  11. Andélson Marcelino
    July 7, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Because it has all I want and specially all I need in one device. I simply love my 5800 XM, here in Brazil there’s a bluetooth DVB device, so until TV, I can watch in my device.

  12. Goro
    July 7, 2010 at 1:30 am

    oooo come on, i love nokia, i adore nokia, but i cant get out of my head the nonsense that they produce, change OS like sox, out out out out dated interface, updates like non ? Ovi store…. mean what…… how much apps? the announce product in 2010 and deliver in when ??? 3010 ????? come on….. lets be reall they (nokia) need to bump their hear into a rock to get some sense in ther habits

    • JFH
      July 7, 2010 at 1:43 am

      Yes, how many apps genius? Well? 37k bro. Should be enough.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 8:32 pm

      To be fair the apps on the Ovi store have been getting better I check at least once a week for new apps, Yes I do share some of the delay between announcement and actual release but with Anssi on board he has promised that it will improve lets see if they can keep the promise with the new devices in the second part of the year.

  13. JFH
    July 7, 2010 at 1:48 am

    Because the company spends real money on R&D, doing basic research. They are truly unique in their mission. They have more peeps in R&D than Cupertino has employees. Right now Apple makes the money, Android has momentum, but it is Nokia that is doing groundbreaking work, again, with LTE, new radio technology, full Linux mobile OS. I think Nokia will be the first to make a truly portable computer running MeeGo. They were first with almost every major innovation in the mobile space. The fact they arent the world masters in monetizing that is bad for investors, but great for the rest of the world. Without Nokia, we would be doomed to a duopoly of iOS & Android. Thank god for Nokia. Please use your resources to ride this rough patch out and hit back hard. I firmly believe MeeGo will make both iOS & Android look like Fisher-Price material. Thanks.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      Some real good points there Nokia innovate on technology that people do not realise or take for granted the iPhone wouldn’t exist today due to all the GSM technologies Nokia have developed. As I always say it would be bad to see iOS and Android only, innovation will fizzle out and consumers will get average products just like the PC V MAC debacle

  14. Marko
    July 7, 2010 at 8:25 am

    -I like Nokia because they rely more on products and services than marketing and hype (you know what I mean). And I hate Apple- and AndroidMania.
    -I beleive in Nokia even though they seem to have forgotten R&D for a few years.
    Now i have a N900 and I love it. I have it overclocked to 900MHz stable 🙂
    -I hate other companies boasting about a million apps. On Nokias you dont need so many of them because you get them out of the box (email, skype)
    -Nokia created most of the things others boast of 5-10 years earlier (touchscreen, proximitysensor, html browser, camphone, gps, compass, facetime :-D, mp3player, multitasking)

    5 years ago!!! I had a 1,3Mpix cam, bluetooth with a2dp, video over IP !!!, touchscreen, 2Gb MMCcard, email, full web browser with FLASH!!! and multitasking on my 7710. I almost want it back LOL

    I love open source. I like Meego beeing real native Linux, not just java apps running on it like android

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Great points there there are a ton of people that have owned Nokia’s moved over to iPhone and don’t realise that they had better specced phones for years but because they are blinded by Apple as they like to make up that they invented all the technology like FaceTime

  15. Marko
    July 7, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I went online on my laptop in the forest 8 years ago with Nokia 8310 (I think) and infrared Dialup. I think Apple has “invented” the same thing with iOS4

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      yep and thats what makes Nokia great!!!

  16. mrbean
    July 7, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Connecting people while using latest technologies

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 7, 2010 at 9:56 pm

      Yep technology that people take for granted and believe Apple invented it

  17. Haze
    September 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I used and choose Nokia because Nokia mobile phone is friendly ,easy to use, simple and fantastic. There are many type of nokia such as for business you can choose E series and who like music ,they can choose X series. I like simple but look smart so now i use C5 – 00 seires and i connecting my friends with social networks like Facebook. Thanks Nokia. I hope you all always keep updating the device’s software. Cheers

  18. oka
    December 17, 2010 at 1:34 am

    nokia is the best, i am using e72 & e63 right now

    its baterry bp4L is amazing…. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

