Home > 3rd edition, 5th Edition, Android, Applications, Convergence, Cseries, Eseries, Linux, Maemo, News, Nokia, Nokian, Nseries, OVI, Rant, S60, Samsung, Sony Ericsson, Symbian, Symbian-Guru > Rant: The death of another Symbian blog and the loss of another one of Nokia’s Evangelists

Rant: The death of another Symbian blog and the loss of another one of Nokia’s Evangelists

This started out a reply to a comment posted in one of my most recent articles which posted a link to Symbian-Guru’s Ricky Cadden and Dotsisx Rita el Khoury final rants and goodbye to the Symbian-Guru website and blog. A link to the post can be found below.
You should definitely give it a read.
I’m surprised but then I’m not. It’s been a frustrating time being a Nokia user, watching symbian’s UI dying a painful death over the years with little being done to repair it. (For the most part)
It’s been painful watching Nokia not release the brilliant hardware that we all knew they were capable of, especially if you were a N97 user.
As a Nokia user in the USA I can definitely sympathize with Ricky for the most part. It’s frustrating having to explain to people that no my nokia isn’t crap, and yes it does things you wish your phone could do. And wonder to myself why Nokia isn’t at least trying to market devices over here.
I definitely understand why Ricky made the step to end the blog after reading the rant and I hope for Nokia’s sake that Nokia World 2010 provides a reason for developers to jump on the platform, proper integration of the Ovi services with awesome hardware to make the public and the blogosphere drop their collective jaws and software that catches the eye and imagination while maintaining the great functionality of Nokia’s older operating systems.
This is truly a great loss. It’s been mentioned many a time,that Nokia has been losing the people that used to evangelize and were willing to evangelize and preach their platforms to the masses, the people that spoke to an audience that for the most part Nokia has ignored. The larger blogs like Symbian-guru and World Of Nokia are shutting up shop. How soon will it be before the users themselves grow jaded with the stagnation of the manufacturer and move on. How soon before interest in blogs like these are forced to close up or widen our audience so as not to drown in a quagmire of nothingness.
Good luck in all your future endeavours guys and appreciate what you’ve contributed to the Nokia community in your 3+ years of service.

Thanks kaiwangaila for the heads up.


  1. July 1, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I wouldn’t say “another” I’d say it’s the biggest loss of Nokia and Symbian Evangelist to date. Symbian-Guru was massive not only in traffic but in respect across the mobile industry. This is a huge blow for Symbian in terms of its social community. I still remember Ricky defending N97 but now has seen greener pastures in Nexus and Android.

    Nokia is at a painful intermediate stage where nothing right seems to happen, but good things are coming on the horizon. It just takes that one little push to see. But this is for Nokia as a whole and not symbian. As mainly a Symbian blogger, it is understandably hard to have so much love when you are sidelined to middle when a new comer in MeeGo/Maemo/Moblin takes over high end. These devices, RM-626 and N8 are a new breed of Nokia hardware and are extremely promising. But if looking at the long term, they will fly the flag for symbian for a short while until MeeGo takes over and then what (at least on blogging terms)

    Unless we see MeeGo-Guru, we have truly lost not just Symbian but Nokia evangelists to Android.

    Good luck in future Rita and Ricky – SG will be missed.

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      F***ing frustrating!! 😦

    • N#O#R#U#L#E#S
      July 1, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      it’s too late for meego android v3 shall destroy it too

      • John Wiegand-forson
        July 1, 2010 at 7:11 pm

        dont say that 😦 I still think Meego has something different to offer

        • Andre
          July 1, 2010 at 7:12 pm

          I disagree with him as well. As sure as I am that android v3 will be better, there is only so much you can do while keeping it simple and intuitive.

  2. mja
    July 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Well it’s a shame they chose Android instead of e.g. MeeGo. I think though that if the current fair bunch of Maemo hackers and evangelists plus the open source linux/Qt community (or a fraction of) decide to stick with MeeGo, MeeGo and Nokia should be well off. I hope..

  3. Roger Johnson
    July 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Who cares? Seriously. The importance of this is being heavily overstated. Geeks are as fickle as wind direction at any given moment. Show them the next new toy and they get all excited, only to pass it on for the next one.

    It’s not a sign of anything. Blogs come and blogs go, based on the fickle geeky whims of those running them. Whinging about the N97 is pointless because a.) It wasn’t anywhere near as bad a handset as a few disappointed geeks said, and b.) it sold LOADS, and c.) Nokia chiefs have said multiple times the whole handset production process has been overhauled in any case. The N8 will NOT suffer from the same situation.

    What we actually need to be caring about is the masses, not introspectively trying to impress other geeks. I hope the masses are who Nokia will continue to care about, not the fanboys (of any platform). And the masses are voting with their wallets – while the allegedly crap N97 was the best Nokia had to offer Nokia grew their smartphone sales 35% Q1 last year to Q1 this year. What this shows you is both the N97 is REALLY not that important and it’s also not that bad.

    The people who comment on this fine blog are a right old laugh because one minute you see an N8 demo, or a MeeGo demo and you’re like “woohoo it’s gonna kill iPhone and Android!” and the next you hear about one fickle blog owner jumping ship (ignoring the millions who will return to Nokia upon release of the N8) and you’re like “aargh! Symbian and Nokia are dead!”.

    Chill people. Nokia have bigger market share and sales than their next 3 competitors combined, and the future for them and Symbian looks amazing.

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      I was very careful not to mention the death of Symbian or Nokia in my post for the simple reason that it isn’t true. People like Ricky would point out the benefits of owning Nokia devices to people on his blog, people on the street, people on youtube etc. Thats a pretty sizable audience who in turn go on to spread word of the awesome “Nokia phones that do things I couldnt do before”. Those are the kinds of people you want backing and supporting your platform. The apple pushers among people our age, though hypocritical, idiotic for the large part, cocky and loud-mouthed, still manage to increase apple’s sales by just spouting the tripe that comes out of people like Jobs’ and Ives’ mouths. You want people talking about your hardware and your platform no matter how big a company you are.

    • July 1, 2010 at 4:53 pm

      @Roger,

      Quite right.

      The N97 kerfuffle coould have been predicted many months before hand. That processor and lack of RAM were already huge worries. The lack of camera improvement and lack of xenon another nail. There was very little to distinguish it from being a QWERTY N95.

      N8 is entirely different. It is a rival to a digital camera, it has more focused touch OS, it is more powerful inside.

      Now we just wait for Nokia to sort out firmware revisions INTERNALLY instead of releasing N8 early and be waiting for v10, v20 in the mean time people hating on N8 for repeating these buggy firmwares.

      Once it all matures, it has been mentioned (I can’t recall where) that this signifies explosion of Symbian rather than its death as the hardware picks up and the UX is streamlined. Maybe wishful thinking, especially as one interview with Nok said MeeGo will dominate smartphone AND highend.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      July 1, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      You do make a really good point there when I saw the first phone i thought no mbile phones manufacturer could ever make a phone as close to it but look at it now there are tons of respectable alternatives to the iPhone

      • Andre
        July 1, 2010 at 7:15 pm

        Did any of you watch the video that was meant to cheer up the mood?

        • John Wiegand-forson
          July 1, 2010 at 8:17 pm

          saw the video and guess what I hate iPhone users even more thats exactly how they behave !!!!!

          • Andre
            July 1, 2010 at 8:20 pm

            😛 i loved it

  4. pff
    July 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I’m sad. Symbian-Guru was a great website. Nokia and symbian, open your eyes, you’re dying. Yesterday Wolrld of Nokia, Today Symbian-Guru, tomorrow Allaboutsymbian??

    Nokia is an empty boat without commander. It’s sad but they deserve it. I use now an Android, may be an iPhone but I’m interest by Symbian/Nokia/Meego. I’m here to be up to date about their products but these last days i’m bored, tired.

    I’m tired about this N8’s teasing. Everyday there are articles about it. It’s good. But all I (we) want is to hold it in our hands.
    I’m tired to see that Nokia’s lead doesn’t want to see the truth and react.

    I’m not married with nokia. I’m not paid by them but really I’m sad to see this enterprise dying…
    I’m tired about Ovi Store wich is empty.

    I’m tired about anémic phones (I”ve bought this ***** N97###)

    • July 1, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      AllAboutSymbian will never go. Rafe and Steve are the Gods of Symbian (to the social media/tech geek scene at least) 🙂

      Though I can’t be too certain with Nokia/Symbian type blogs. They’ve been very, very loyal to stick with Nokia through these understandably difficult times. If you look at Nokia as how they are now, even I would jump ship. But there’s so much great things to happen on the horizon. This is kinda like the worst time to leave IMO. Just a couple months away from Nokia World 2010. At least if that doesn’t impress, then leave. (Though others may have legitimate reasons, like personal stuff to leave)

      • Rafe
        July 2, 2010 at 12:50 am

        Jay’s right. All About Symbian isn’t going anywhere 🙂

  5. NeNoRmAl
    July 1, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    “The night is darkest before the dawn”… I still have hope in Nokia! =]

  6. Goro
    July 1, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    preety much, for the same reasons as Ricky, i migrated to androdi. got x10i and love it

  7. GordonH
    July 1, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    It’s sad to see symbian lose a fan like Ricky. I blame it on the Nokia executives. It’s been 3 years since Symbian and Nokia (together) provided us with great hardware.

  8. N#O#R#U#L#E#S
    July 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    i’m from Euro and after years of nokia now i’ll seriously decide to skip N8 and other as it old hardware/software device..i’ll pass to android/motorola

  9. July 1, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Motorola sold a ton of Razrs,got complacent and nearly disappeared from the cell phone market. They turned it around with the droid. Nokia sold a ton of N97s(I bought one) but it is a disappointment to many. I bought the N900 and felt I was duped into being a beta tester. Now the N8 is announced,but no one can buy one for 3 to 6 months. Nokia is trying its best to piss off as many people as possible while there viable alternatives to take their business away. I have used their phones for 18 years, even though I had to seek them out. I hope they get religion and see that there is truth in the criticism they are getting and act on it.

  10. Andre
    July 1, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Here to lighten the mood

    NSFW

    • Jim
      July 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      this seems much funny.

  11. John Wiegand-forson
    July 1, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I will stick with Nokia for a while, i am not going to lie but I have been tempted by Android and iOS 4, I nearly bought the Nexus One on the day it launched, nearly bought the iPhone 4 before I finally decided with E72 I have pretty much decided not to buy the N8 and after the preview of Meego I am really excited to see the N9. Symbian wasn’t the reason I became a Nokia fan it was the Hardware. Do be honest I wouldn’t want Nokia to make Android devices it would pretty much make iOS and Android the two main mobile OS’s to choose from like the PC v MAC days which I hated, I do not want to live in world with two OS’s again its bad for consumers, innovation quickly vanishes and all manufactures can give us are faster processors, bigger screens, and worse battery life’s so nokia need to stay in the game here and go through these pains to become successful in the future. To base Nokia’s future on the N97 is unfair I think it was joke OK we get, I was never a fan in the first place even when they first announced it the N8 from what I can see is already a better device than the N97 when it was first previewed all I can say is have faith and soon we will be able to show iPhone users what an amazing meego devices we are using (hopefully :-))

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      I don’t want an android device right now having used the original motorola droid every once in a while between December and now. Nokia makes great hardware, the symbian UI kinda sucks and the major drawing point for me to get the N8 is the CAMERA.
      I don’t want a two UI situation arising and I’m hoping that Nokia puts its fulling backing behind MeeGo, it’ll need it. Basing Nokia’s future on the N97 alone is unfair but I think it is fair to say they have somewhat stagnated at the high end of the market. If by august the MeeGo UI begins to fulfill on the promise it is currently showing, then there’s no doubt in my mind that I’d make the jump for a N9 device (if it has xenon).

      • John Wiegand-forson
        July 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm

        I hope Nokia can make the Symbian 4 and Meego UI’s very similar to make it even easier to develop for I hope they continue to innovate in the camera space as it seems to be the only area they are recognised for, I hate it when people are saying the iPhone 4 camera is better than the majority of phones out there without mentioning Nokia

        • Andre
          July 1, 2010 at 8:12 pm

          That would make it significantly easier to develop for though I highly doubt that’ll be the case.
          Hopefully they release a Nokia Qt SDK that allows for creating apps in both OS’s with similar functionality but somewhat different looks to match their respective OS’s.

  12. July 1, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Andre, Enjoyed the youtube video you suggested. Looks like Nokia did follow the suggestions of the you design on the Nokia Conversations website. 4″ screen with a Qwerty keyboard, 8 megapexal camera with xenon flash. Hope the software(meego) fulfills peoples expectations.

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 7:56 pm

      I wondered the same thing when I started looking at the leaked slider.Have high hopes for future devices
      Does anyone want to place bets on Nokia’s first MeeGo device STRONGLY resembling the input from that poll?

  13. July 1, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Andre :

    Here to lighten the mood



    NSFW

    haha I think I’ve watched this 5 times this week. The sad thing is, iBrownBear exists. I have many friends like that and I’m like 😮 don’t get me started! haha.

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      The funniest part was it has the wi-fi’s LOL

  14. kaiwangailan
    July 1, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I’m really disappointed of Nokia………………….

    • Andre
      July 1, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      Disappointed in the last 2 years? Totally justified.

  15. July 2, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Thanks for the links, guys, and congrats on your recent traffic levels! I’m glad to see that there are some who still carry the Nokia/Symbian torch. Jay – you honestly are alot of the reason that Symbian-Guru lasted this long, after we met in London and you introduced me to Michael Oryl, that gave me the time I needed to really develop the site.

    I do not, in the slightest, think that Nokia/Symbian are dead. I think they both have extremely tough roads in front of them, and I don’t have the passion to stick around and wait for them any longer.

    • July 2, 2010 at 8:00 am

      Hey Ricky,

      Real shame to see SG go dude, if only N8 could have come sooner. I don’t understand why Nokia didn’t fly you out for the demoes. I was certain you already had a N8.

      But if the passion has fizzled out, there’s nothing you can do. I understand, I did stop the whole mobile scene for a while from N82 as everything was just rehash till N97 (which seemed something new, though not with hindsight).

      I was disappointed that Maemo wasn’t enough to excite you. The N900 was a lovely beast to use, and calmed all my disdain for the pathetic and frustrating experience with N97.

      Here’s to possibly getting you back when Symbian matures (past s^4) or hopefully sooner with MeeGo.

      Good Luck with Radio Shack! Was awesome meeting you back in London and later in Amsterdam (for Nokia World haha).

      We’ll be one of the flag bearers for Nok/Sym whilst you “try” out a batch of Androids. :p. You were a huge inspiration for mynokiablog and a fantastic resource to the Symbian/Nokia community. Thanks for the support and helping mynokiablog grow 🙂

  16. andre
    July 2, 2010 at 1:09 am

    Wow, who would have thought both Rafe and Ricky would comment on something I wrote. Lol

    • July 2, 2010 at 7:42 am

      haha, I’m always like, “is this really them?”

  17. IMarius
    July 2, 2010 at 3:06 am

    Insert derogatory comment about about Nokia phones , been outdated cause there icons are not as shiny as whatever other phone i own.

    (meh who needs good battery life, flash, multitasking, free maps , great cameras, those things are only cool if there on whatever phone i own , if not i dismiss them )

    Then claim that not a single person will ever buy their phones cause they dont sell well in whatever place i live , and where i live must be the centre of the universe.

    (secretly hope nobody notices that nokia phones arre sold all over the world , unlike most phone)

    last state that they should change to whatever OS my phone has , as its clearly the best.
    (no of course i am not a bit jealous and actually want a nokia phone)

  18. John
    • Andre
      July 2, 2010 at 3:37 am

      Ouch.

    • pff
      July 2, 2010 at 6:37 am

      So what’s the f..k!!! All majors website stop covering Symbian. They’re right. I wonder what Nokia/Symbian think about it.

      • Andre
        July 2, 2010 at 6:56 am

        Well we’ll still cover it!!! 🙂
        Or at least I will.

        • July 2, 2010 at 7:38 am

          Ditto.

          For me, I write only what ever interests me on MyNokiaBlog.com.

          I will never outright decide NOT to write about anything as I cannot guarantee something will not pick up my attention.

          So what, Symbian^1 was dire. We knew that. But we also knew that major changes would not come until S^4.

          NO ONE has tried production level S^3. Now is the worst time to cut off from Symbian. If and when a person has tried it for at least a day and doesn’t like it, then fine.

          But as before, in Rita and Ricky’s case, they have other more pressing reasons, new jobs, expanding careers. It is totally understandable they want to focus their time on that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

