Home > 3rd edition, 5th Edition, aPPLE, Nokia, Nseries, Rant, Symbian > Ovi…….. do you use it ?

Ovi…….. do you use it ?

Much has been said about Ovi since its launch in 20007 everything from its unusual name to its poor implementation. Many believe the reason behind Nokia’s poor performance in the high end market comes from the notion that Nokia has put a too effort in getting the internet services right but somewhat failed.The thing is Apple has proven that customers expect services asl well as the phone.There’s nothing to be ashamed about Ovi’s poor implementation though Apple’s MobileMe launch was horrendous, Microsoft’s effort is good on the desktop side but on the mobile side they are none existent. The only successful implementation is the Google one which is arguably the best one and the benchmark for the competition.

Throughout its life Ovi has been deemed failure with the Ovi store looking like shit to be honest, not having 200,000 fart apps, Ovi share is pretty much used by no one ( I think), and I don’t know about Ovi music, Comes with Music, Calendar and Contacts, oh and Ovi mail (how many are there?!?!?!).

I had a couple of good experiences with Ovi to be honest I PAID for my first app for my e72 its was the Bomberman game on sale (funnily enough i couldn’t find it at the time of writing this post).My second was when I first popped in my sim into my new e72 and synched it with Ovi all my contacts and calendar entries appeared !!!! I was chuffed considering all the bad press Ovi got about being unreliable and clunky by people who have probably never used it.

Does anybody remember this video if Ovi becomes anything like this in the future i would be chuffed, it would also  be cool to see HD movies on the Ovi store

I was wondering does anyone actually use the any of the Ovi stuff? Would you be able to live with all your mobile content on the Ovi services? And where’s the Meamo/Meego love?

Nokia mentions that they have 80 Million people using its Ovi services and aim for 300 million 2011 will they achieve it ?

Let me know in the comments and you can also follow me on twitter @jwf90


  1. Mark
    June 17, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Ovi on my N900 works like a charm and looks good too. Hope it is the same for other devices as well. Not much content for N900 though.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 3:55 pm

      yeah content is the big issue for me too

  2. Rob
    June 17, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Ovi on the 900 is just a web link though so working like a charm is not overly hard, they just have to point you at the installer file.

    I’d say there was nothign fantastic about the looks but they are clean and straightforward. For me though there is too little there. I think I re-download the bounce evolution demo (so that I can impress phone luddites) and the spirit level if I flash my phone.

    Other than that most of the apps are poitless or have better versions available elsewhere. I never bother with anything outside apps and games. I am glad that there are not hundreds of thousands if pointless ones but the choice is still very limited. Music wise I have my own collection and I really have more of a life than to need to use my phone to let people on facebook know I am on the bus and saw a bee.

    I wonder if there is store integration from the PC on the ovi suite? Oh hang on, 6 months and several ovi suite versions later and the N900 is still not supported (must be in the category of “older phones”)

    • Mark
      June 18, 2010 at 12:04 am

      Hard or not doesnt matter. It works. Looks good. Remembers my creditcard and boom. I dont see why Ovi is not easy to use for some people. Do other devices see something completely different?

  3. Jim
    June 17, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    I like Ovi mail and calendar. ovi mail is nice and clean. It’s not my primary email, but it’s a good email service. I mean it’s clean( no ads) and that’s what I’m interested. I also tried the calendar and I like it , but I’m not that kind of person who need to schedule things. I keep them in my brain. But yes they are no match on online services compared with google. I never used and will never use ovi music. I’m not sure what does. probably something similar with itunes which I never used either.I also like ovi maps. more than google maps. and it loads faster, but they also ned to improve that and make some api for it so people can embed ovi maps into their sites.
    With other words Ovi might be a success if:
    1. they keep it clean( no ads)
    2. they improve their services. almost everything is beta and has a few errors.
    3. better graphics for the market

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      and Advertising most people don’t have a clue what Ovi is

  4. Roger Johnson
    June 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Isn’t this a bit of a daft and pointless story? They have around 2 million downloads a day for goodness sake! Who cares if mynokiablog readers are using Ovi or not – the point is a very great many people are.

    Oh, and furthermore, I’ve read comments from developers that are saying they are making LOTS more money from Ovi Store (Apps by the way, before anyone tries to claim it’s wallpapers or ringtones) than they are from either Android or iPhone stores.

    Oh, and Ovi’s doing a lot better than the failure that is Android store, despite the fact the latter gets lots more press.

    Let’s have no more of this nonsense please!

    • Mark
      June 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

      Do you have any links, with regards of the developer comments on making money from Ovi? Thx.

    • June 18, 2010 at 10:36 am

      @Roger Johnson:

      Just to note that although this is one blog, all the authors don’t necessarily share the same opinion.

      Ovi Store will prevail. With MeeGo devices and a slew of new Symbian devices all using cross platform apps, Ovi Store will improve in content and quantity.

      Mobile Industry Analyst Tomi Ahonen says Ovi Store will in future tower Over App Store. Unlikely looking Ovi as they are now but it could be possible.

      http://mynokiablog.com/2010/04/13/ovi-store-will-tower-over-apples-app-store-and-android-market-in-a-few-years-poll-do-you-agree/

      1. Tomi comment 1 Ovi – first, as the various platforms sort their App stores out, they fix the bugs and kinks, get reasonably similar..
      2. Tomi comment 2 Ovi – then as Nokia sells 450M phones/year & world replace phones every 17 months, has time to roll out Ovi to its clients
      3. Tomi comment 3 Ovi – as developers see Ovi is world’s furthest-reaching app platform (outside of USA obviously) they rush to port apps to it
      4. Tomi comment 4 Ovi – in a few years Ovi will tower over all other App stores incl iPhone & Android simply due to Nokia’s scale. Inevitable
      5. Tomi comment 5 Ovi – look at Nokia’s ethos, they learned that ‘internet lesson’ very well, to launch often and release updates often..
      6. Tomi comment 6 Ovi – Nokia know for market success, ‘best’ is the enemy of ‘good enough’

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      I have heard from people saying that the Ovi store is making less money Eldar Murtazin has got developers telling him so i dont know whats going on

  5. Rob
    June 17, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    It’s a good starter for debate and I always find it interesting if not always useful to see what other people think of these things though it can be frustrating when people keep raving about ovi maps when they have not bothered to bring the N900 one out of V1 kinda beta-ish.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      I do agree with that the n900 should be supported i expect it to happen in the meego devices, but ovi maps is a very good application

  6. spencer.feng
    June 18, 2010 at 4:24 am

    Actually, I think ovi is a good service. I use ovi mail as my major mailbox. And I use ovi contacts and calendar to backup my contacts and events. Ovi share is nice, better than flickr. But, nearly no people are using it! Nokia should have hired better marketing guys. No one knows Nokia’s ovi brand!!!!!!!!!!!! It is a shame!!!!!!!!!!

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      You are soo right there needs to be much more advertising for ovi as its a great idea and is needed

  7. mk
    June 18, 2010 at 4:27 am

    ok. in my opinion
    ovi map’s GREAT. really great and second to none.
    ovi store is ok, but it’s normal that there’s no interesting apps on symbian.
    ovi mail is just like any other email, charming to use, but i like my gmail.
    ovi music is only second to itune store in Europe.

    However,
    ovi share is FOR WHAT? when we have flikr, youtube and facebook.
    ovi contact is not clear what it is. why don’t just rename to ovi chat?

    now i want “find my phone” function in ovi service. it’s more useful than any other exist services.

  8. spencer.feng
    June 18, 2010 at 4:27 am

    Btw, I think Nokia’s service strategy will fail definitely!!!! It has been announced for more than 3 years, but just a small number of people know it! Ovi share failed, come with music failed, ovi file failed, ovi store is full of shit now.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Well Nokia did mention that they have 80 million people using its services I think Nokia need it going forward. People expect to have services like Ovi when buying a phone these days. Just look at the iTunes eco system for the iPhone

  9. Bruce
    June 18, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Ovi Mail: NO (Don’t want another mailbox – Gmail), Ovi Contacts: NO (Google Contacts), Ovi Map: NO (Google Maps is better in the USA), Ovi Music: No (NOT in the USA), Ovi Share: NO (already use Flickr/YouTube/Picasa — why change to something that NONE of my friends use?), Ovi Store: RARELY (not many worthwhile apps, Nokia Download was just as useful/useless).

    As someone who started with web-enabled PCs before web-enabled phones, Ovi seems completely useless, but obviously there are a lot of people around the world who will first connect to the internet with a phone and never go the PC route, so maybe it makes sense for them.

  10. ddjdj
    June 18, 2010 at 8:39 am

    i think nokia should just gave up ovi service except ovi maps

    concentrate more on making decent phone and games

    • Jim
      June 18, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Ovi maps and store should be what they need to improve, because this are the most useful things. But I think they should leave the other services, even if they are not a worldwide success.

    • John Wiegand-forson
      June 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      Nokia needs Ovi customers expect to have services alongside smartphones these days, just look at the iTunes eco system its great and easy to use

  11. pff
    June 18, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Ovi Store is not very sexy. This Green don”t make me urge to download apps on it. In the beginnig I’ve had a lot of problem to login. Then I’ve stopped to use this Store.

    • June 18, 2010 at 10:27 am

      It’s the nokia theme…though green is somewhat overused and slightly garish.

      New Ovi Store looks silver in one of the N8 demos. I’ve also had this log in problem (N97) and also stopped using it. Absolutely fine on N900 but that lacks the content.

      • John Wiegand-forson
        June 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

        The silver on the new Ovi store that is a good step forward i think

  12. Rob
    June 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

    ddjdj :
    i think nokia should just gave up ovi service except ovi maps
    concentrate more on making decent phone and games

    Why should nokia focus on games. I’d much prefer them to focus on the platform to allow games developers to easily produce great games. Oh and their non existant customer care, and N900 support for things like maps.

    • jb8967
      June 18, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      Nokia needs to focus on the platform and seemless integration with services. If the platform is stable, the hardware robust (plenty of RAM, excellent GPU, etc.)…the game developers will come because of scale as well as the ease with which to develop and stay within the Symbian-Meego franchise under the Qt framework. This will become a windfall for smart developers; it really is all about the most efficient use of talent to deliver great apps and games across multiple platforms, without limiting the consumer or the developer with a closed system and a handful of devices. Nokia…concentrate on making sure firmware works…and works…and works. Put a zero defect process in place for firmware and focus.

  13. June 18, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I use Ovi Maps (very good solution for navigation). I don’t need any other Navigation app.

    Not a fan of Ovi MAIL, like the comments, I don’t want another email account. But I do enjoy Nokia messaging which pushes my email to my Nokia. Nokia does point out though that Nokia mail will be used by many as their first time email. And it’s now powered by Yahoo with cross account with yahoo services, flickr, yahoo answers.

    Ovi Store – hmm. Lots of improvements needed but isn’t bad. Symbian client is ok at best, if only my N97 would stop messing about and let me access it. I think on a faster phone (N8) and the new Ovi Store 2.0 and new theme (silver not green) it should be much better to use.
    Ovi store buying is super easy though (with card). Quite scary actually as anyone can just take a couple of clicks and buy something without me knowing. haha. But I guess that could happen with all my stored data (i.e. tweet/facebook rape)

    On the content front, with Qt, stronger hardware we shall see more high end applications coming to Nokia devices. We can see this from the iPhone games port on N900 and N8. Nokia phones can handle them and Nokia phones will give these developers even more of an audience.

    Ovi Contacts/Sync – promising but appalling execution. I need to receive a bloody message first accept details in order to sync my contacts/other info. Why can’t I just sign in? So annoying.
    Sync needs to be ONE sign in and auto updates.

    Ovi Share – used it like a few times in Jan. But if I want to upload and share stuff, twitpic via N900 is just so much easier and it goes to my twitter feed.

    Ovi files – those who have used seem to love it, but I haven’t found a reason to use it. I’m frankly not even sure what it’s supposed to do.

    A common theme with Nokia is they have feature filled stuff but need to make them more accessible, raise awareness of what they do and ensure they’re extremely simple to use.

  14. Andelson Marcelino
    June 18, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Yes I do, I’ve been used Ovi Store daily and I don’t have any complain about it and OVI sync, that works fine too.
    OVI music looks good, is easy to find and download music.
    I don’t know why people doesn’t like it.

  15. jb8967
    June 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I have really integrated OVI into my routine. The OVI mail client is clean and reliable. It’s fast and stays up to date while pooling my multiple e-mail accounts smartly. The OVI Maps is terrifc and gets better and better…the added value services (Michelin,Lonely Planet, Weather, Events, Share Loc.)are well done. I think the free worldwide turn-by-turn being independent of the network is an under-leveraged selling point that will pay back handsomely with the end of unlimited data, esp in USA where this is becoming late breaking news. Having remote backup for contacts, calendar, files is a big plus as well. Frankly, it is a fantastic deal and I highly recommend the OVI ecosystem.

  16. Jorge Arturo
    June 20, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I use the ovi services:

    Ovi Share, I use it to share photos with my parents, when my nephew was born (I live close to my brother) I send pictures of him and videos to my parents through Ovi Share.

    Also I use Ovi Calendar and Contacts, it actually substituted my Outlook Calendar, having it in the cloud is better, I can sync whenever I want, and I can open it at work (using my work PC) or at home in my laptop. And I like the fuction to restore the device using the sync app.

    Ovi mail is now my main account, syncing with Nokia Messaging.
    The Store, at first had the WORST search functions, not even possible to find apps by name search, even Facebook, they fix that and now works for me.

    Ovi Music, that is good, in Mexico we had first Ovi Music than iTunes, and with Comes With Music I have downloaded over 4000 songs, the PC software need some work, it is slow, and the transfer of songs is not the fastest, I like the mobile app, and the fact they (pc and mobile) sync bought songs, I don’t like DRM, because sometimes when not having a connection I can’t listen to my music.

    Ovi Files is great for my job, I travel a lot, and I don’t take a laptop with me, only my N97, with Ovi files I can access my files at work and at home.

  17. Jorge Arturo
    June 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

    By the way, Ovi Maps, rule!! I can add places on the web and sync it to my mobile, planned the route, this is a most for me, that way I can find where my hotel is and where is the place where I’ll be working. (for frequent travelers Ovi Maps is the best)

    • adrian13
      June 20, 2010 at 4:54 pm

      you miss something here, i’ve installed @socially app on my e72, it has foursquare integration and you can see venues on ovi maps, you can save it, or route to it and the best thing, ovi maps favorite (landmark) actually also sync with my google map account (you need to install google maps mobile)

  18. June 20, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I am not convinced to “believe” in one environment & one provider only. I don’t like all triple-plays, etc. because if one service is down, most probably everything is down. No DSL, no TV etc. The same somehow applies to web solutions and services.

    I may not use all Ovi Services but I think I can mix some of them with other brands. Especially is usage is simplified with Nokia device. I use Flickr, I keep there about 5k of my photos there, so switching to files in unlikely. Maps? Of course! Mail? Lately I have migrated my main mail from local provider to Ovi I’m happy with it, especially with Messaging service on multiple devices. Contact will be next natural step then..

  19. homieomt@ovi.com
    September 6, 2010 at 5:34 am

    OMG I USE OVI CONTACTS ( ovi chat) ALL THE TIME !!!!!! and ovi store

  20. October 30, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Ovi chat is nice. But when i search for some people that are on ovi chat i don’t find them. U search for me my id is Uyi swizi or swizi@ovi.com

  1. June 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm
  2. June 20, 2010 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

